Problems with Dev 1.2
Problems with Dev 1.2
I just installed dev release 1.2 and have encountered a few problems.
First, I had the same problems installing, change database settings etc., that a few others have posted here. After install I am able to login to the backend but I cannot change the name of the root of the site structure from Startseite. Also, I can create an article, but I am then given a blank screen. I cannot put in any of the details or select any content areas. No matter what I do I cannot access the article details. One more thing, when I login to the backend I don't see the phpwcms Copyright info. This is blank as well.
thanks,
j
First, I had the same problems installing, change database settings etc., that a few others have posted here. After install I am able to login to the backend but I cannot change the name of the root of the site structure from Startseite. Also, I can create an article, but I am then given a blank screen. I cannot put in any of the details or select any content areas. No matter what I do I cannot access the article details. One more thing, when I login to the backend I don't see the phpwcms Copyright info. This is blank as well.
thanks,
j
Re: Problems with Dev 1.2
chmod the index.php as described at the docu site.jeremyl1 wrote:but I cannot change the name of the root of the site structure from Startseite.
cheers
rush
3 (!) Jahre warten reichen mir. Ich bin erst mal weg.
-
- Posts: 29
- Joined: Mon 12. Apr 2004, 01:22
This is the error:
I have chmod'd all according to phpwcms-docu & index.php is 777Warning: fopen(/home/virtual/--path to phpwcms--/config/phpwcms/conf.indexpage.inc.php): failed to open stream: Permission denied in /home/virtual/--path to phpwcms--/include/inc_lib/general.inc.php on line 680
Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/virtual/--path to phpwcms--/include/inc_lib/general.inc.php:680) in /home/virtual/--path to phpwcms--/include/inc_act/act_structure.php on line 264
greg z
urbanesque.org
urbanesque.org
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Fri 18. Feb 2005, 09:53
it works
file: include/inc_lib/default.inc.php
line 37
1.
replace:
$phpwcms['DOC_ROOT'] = str_replace('/'.$phpwcms["root"].'include/inc_lib/default.inc.php', '', $phpwcms['DOC_ROOT']);
with:
$phpwcms['DOC_ROOT'] = str_replace('/include/inc_lib/default.inc.php', '', $phpwcms['DOC_ROOT']);
2.
do not CHMOD "phpwcms_template" "666"
instead CHMOD it "755"
it works!
line 37
1.
replace:
$phpwcms['DOC_ROOT'] = str_replace('/'.$phpwcms["root"].'include/inc_lib/default.inc.php', '', $phpwcms['DOC_ROOT']);
with:
$phpwcms['DOC_ROOT'] = str_replace('/include/inc_lib/default.inc.php', '', $phpwcms['DOC_ROOT']);
2.
do not CHMOD "phpwcms_template" "666"
instead CHMOD it "755"
it works!
Re: it works
I am having the missing content-editor problem on a totally new installation of 1.2.1-DEV (Even a new database). I tried following Boarderliner's advice;
Remark:
This line was Commented Out ( //str... ) in the 1.2.1-DEV folder I downloaded and installed:
$phpwcms['DOC_ROOT'] = str_replace('/'.$phpwcms["root"].'include/inc_lib/default.inc.php', '', $phpwcms['DOC_ROOT']);
I still tried to replace it and remove the comment marker. (I was a little desperate, and even tried it with the comment marker ). Neither worked.
About the CHMOD suggestion, I already have changed this permission (I needed to to succesfully install), and it still doesn't work. I just get the backend page with a blank content section when I try to edit an article, or after I submit a new article summary.
Note: I tried enabling the error_reporting(E_ALL); line, and still recieved no errors (Although, unrelatedly, I have gotten a warning on the 'view image' page).
Should I put this in as a 'bug'? Help!
It doesn't work.boarderliner wrote:file: include/inc_lib/default.inc.php - line 37
1. replace:
$phpwcms['DOC_ROOT'] = str_replace('/'.$phpwcms["root"].'include/inc_lib/default.inc.php', '', $phpwcms['DOC_ROOT']);
with:
$phpwcms['DOC_ROOT'] = str_replace('/include/inc_lib/default.inc.php', '', $phpwcms['DOC_ROOT']);
2. do not CHMOD "phpwcms_template" "666"
instead CHMOD it "755"
it works!
Remark:
This line was Commented Out ( //str... ) in the 1.2.1-DEV folder I downloaded and installed:
$phpwcms['DOC_ROOT'] = str_replace('/'.$phpwcms["root"].'include/inc_lib/default.inc.php', '', $phpwcms['DOC_ROOT']);
I still tried to replace it and remove the comment marker. (I was a little desperate, and even tried it with the comment marker ). Neither worked.
About the CHMOD suggestion, I already have changed this permission (I needed to to succesfully install), and it still doesn't work. I just get the backend page with a blank content section when I try to edit an article, or after I submit a new article summary.
Note: I tried enabling the error_reporting(E_ALL); line, and still recieved no errors (Although, unrelatedly, I have gotten a warning on the 'view image' page).
Should I put this in as a 'bug'? Help!
- Oliver Georgi
- Site Admin
- Posts: 9904
- Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
- Contact:
What should I do?
I did have a successfully working install of 1.1.9-DEV on the same host with the same settings, and all of the WYSIWYG editors seemed to function; additionally, the editor for the Summary page works very well.
'General Path Problem' - How do I go about resolving this? I've hunted these forums awhile, but can't seem to find a solution. If somebody can link me to a pertinent post that already addresses it, or otherwise help me, I would be very grateful.
To be sure I'm not leaving anything out, here is an unnecesarrily in depth explanation of my situation:
My installation is precisely as the downloaded 1.2.1-DEV Package is downloaded, and then installed. I have deleted the Setup folder, all bars were green, and have found no other errors sofar - simply that after I declare the first steps of article creation (title/summary), I never reach the next phase (choosing plain text/text with picture/code/etc); all I get is the navigation menus at the top and side of the backweb like normal, and a sadly blank content area. I have tried the fixes for other people with this problem, but they haven't worked.
'General Path Problem' - How do I go about resolving this? I've hunted these forums awhile, but can't seem to find a solution. If somebody can link me to a pertinent post that already addresses it, or otherwise help me, I would be very grateful.
To be sure I'm not leaving anything out, here is an unnecesarrily in depth explanation of my situation:
My installation is precisely as the downloaded 1.2.1-DEV Package is downloaded, and then installed. I have deleted the Setup folder, all bars were green, and have found no other errors sofar - simply that after I declare the first steps of article creation (title/summary), I never reach the next phase (choosing plain text/text with picture/code/etc); all I get is the navigation menus at the top and side of the backweb like normal, and a sadly blank content area. I have tried the fixes for other people with this problem, but they haven't worked.
- Oliver Georgi
- Site Admin
- Posts: 9904
- Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
- Contact:
The same thing happened to me after which I realised that paths had changed.all I get is the navigation menus at the top and side of the backweb like normal, and a sadly blank content area. I have tried the fixes for other people with this problem, but they haven't worked.
Solution for me : Fill in details in the new conf.inc.php file.
What also worked with 1.2.1 was compression set to 3 and cache timout setting as 14400
Cyrus
-
- Posts: 44
- Joined: Mon 29. Dec 2003, 03:29
Path and Config
I had some of the same problems as listed in this thread in regard to pathing. The last update by Oliver fixed it for me. Please pay attention to the changed conf.inc file. Also if you have put in a subdirectory you need to add that.. in my case that was cms1
Here are examples from my config file.
Hope this helps...
Here are examples from my config file.
Code: Select all
// paths
$phpwcms['DOC_ROOT'] = $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'];
$phpwcms["root"] = "cms1";
$phpwcms["file_path"] = "phpwcms_filestorage"; //default: "phpwcms_filestorage"
$phpwcms["templates"] = "phpwcms_template"; //default: "phpwcms_template"
$phpwcms["content_path"] = "content"; //default: "content"
$phpwcms["cimage_path"] = "images"; //default: "images"
$phpwcms["ftp_path"] = "phpwcms_ftp"; //default: "phpwcms_ftp"
good morning...
as a newbie i've also the same problems. i can login in the backend, but when i try to go to a menu point (admin,...) i've only a blank screen -> no content. i've just upgraded from 1.1 RC4 to 1.21 dev. i've also changed the path value images to img => no result.
greetings
monz@
ps. really good cms system!!!
as a newbie i've also the same problems. i can login in the backend, but when i try to go to a menu point (admin,...) i've only a blank screen -> no content. i've just upgraded from 1.1 RC4 to 1.21 dev. i've also changed the path value images to img => no result.
greetings
monz@
ps. really good cms system!!!
You all have been awesome. I'm sorry that either none of these suggestions are working, or I am implementing them improperly. Oliver, I will try my best to illustrate my problem as concisely as possible.
The Error
To get the error, I either try to get past the summary part of an article (The WYSIWYG editor works beautifully, as a side-note), or I click the 'edit article' link from the article admin menu.
(Here are some redundant screenshots to make sure i'm not explaining this too badly)
Either wayI try to change the actual article, I get to the same result, which is a blank screen:
Oliver, to answer your questions:
-The wysiwyg editor seems to work fine, I don't understand phpwcms so naturally I don't know what bearing this has on my problem.
-I do not know how to check my PHP error log, although I can give you my system information (Well, the host's system information):
Register Globals and Safe Mode are both OFF.
-I can reproduce the error on two different winXP machines using Firefox and IE 6.
-I have no clue if this is important, but I uncommented the line " error_reporting(E_ALL); " from default.inc.php earlier, and still haven't seen any errors.
My last resource I can provide is a dummied (DB user/pass, emails, and directories replaced with fake info) copy of my conf.inc.php - I have left it as untouched as possible, I have reversed any changes I have tried and failed to execute (i think). The 'root' directories were correct, and the 'phpwcms' directory is valid; it is in that subdirectory.
Here is the file:
http://www.montsegure.com/melek/forum_s ... nc.php.txt
If I can't fix the problem, I am happy to simply try to reinstall on the next release - 1.1.9 installs beautifully, and I'm sure this won't happen to me with each release I try. It would be nice, however, to figure out what's wrong.
Sorry if I've been unhelpful, I'm trying my best - i'm inexperience with these things
Thank you!
-melek
The Error
To get the error, I either try to get past the summary part of an article (The WYSIWYG editor works beautifully, as a side-note), or I click the 'edit article' link from the article admin menu.
(Here are some redundant screenshots to make sure i'm not explaining this too badly)
Either wayI try to change the actual article, I get to the same result, which is a blank screen:
Oliver, to answer your questions:
-The wysiwyg editor seems to work fine, I don't understand phpwcms so naturally I don't know what bearing this has on my problem.
-I do not know how to check my PHP error log, although I can give you my system information (Well, the host's system information):
Register Globals and Safe Mode are both OFF.
-I can reproduce the error on two different winXP machines using Firefox and IE 6.
-I have no clue if this is important, but I uncommented the line " error_reporting(E_ALL); " from default.inc.php earlier, and still haven't seen any errors.
My last resource I can provide is a dummied (DB user/pass, emails, and directories replaced with fake info) copy of my conf.inc.php - I have left it as untouched as possible, I have reversed any changes I have tried and failed to execute (i think). The 'root' directories were correct, and the 'phpwcms' directory is valid; it is in that subdirectory.
Here is the file:
http://www.montsegure.com/melek/forum_s ... nc.php.txt
If I can't fix the problem, I am happy to simply try to reinstall on the next release - 1.1.9 installs beautifully, and I'm sure this won't happen to me with each release I try. It would be nice, however, to figure out what's wrong.
Sorry if I've been unhelpful, I'm trying my best - i'm inexperience with these things
Thank you!
-melek