Page 1 of 2

setup for paths

Posted: Tue 4. May 2004, 20:41
by Oliver Georgi
If you think you have problems setting up right paths in conf.inc.php please check that file in your www root:

http://www.phpwcms.de/support/document_root.zip
[UPDATE] you have to unzip the file ;-)

By using info produced by that script you might solve DOCUMENT_ROOT problems on IIS machines and on some *NIX systems with paths like http://www.mysite.com/~wastepath/here

Oliver

on Apache 2 under Win XP

Posted: Wed 5. May 2004, 23:58
by AlleyKat
Don't know if this is related, but installing in sub-subdir under Apache2 (for testing), installation shows:

system: Windows NT ALLEYKAT 5.1 build 2600
server: Apache/2.0.48 (Win32) PHP/4.3.6
php: v4.3.6 <- yeah my own UniServer - running with mmcache 2.4.6! ;)

path: W:/www/ole/phpwcms

phpwcms path values
phpwcms root: olephpwcms <- tiny error here, should have been ole/phpwcms

Rest works like a dream! Image

Posted: Thu 6. May 2004, 00:37
by Oliver Georgi
maybe the problem exists only there - no real problem

Oliver

Posted: Thu 6. May 2004, 01:06
by AlleyKat
You mean in sub-sub-dir?

Ofcourse this is no problem at all for me (or I wouldn't have been such a happy poster), this was just to help you fix it, to prevent future problems and wasted explanation time on forum ;)

After giving it a little thought, i don't really think these things are related, just a small error on it's own, this. As seen from the (good idea) info box on the pages, theres no problem seeing correct path. Split off my post and stuff it into the Bugs forum where it belongs. :mrgreen:

Posted: Thu 6. May 2004, 01:23
by Oliver Georgi
no problem - this is just a info ;-)

But I think I have fixed it - maybe it is because of the IIS.

Posted: Thu 6. May 2004, 02:21
by AlleyKat
Will you reveal the change so i can test it out?
(or throw changelog-link after me and spank me, 'cause I've been BAD again!) :lol:

Posted: Thu 6. May 2004, 09:43
by Oliver Georgi
Use the CVS on SourceForge: It always be there.

files in setup folder: index.php, setup.php

Oliver

Posted: Mon 7. Jun 2004, 12:26
by Bogataj
Hi... i have a problem... i have a site http://www.mysite.com/~username
now i dont know how to set paths... i tried with: sitename: http://www.mysite.com/~tbone/ and no root path; and with sitename http://www.mysite.com and root path ~tbone/

now none seems to be working... can u help me? thanks

Posted: Mon 7. Jun 2004, 12:58
by Pappnase
hello

what you done is right!
if you have an domain with an ~ then configure in the conf.inc.php your path this way!!

Code: Select all

// site values
$phpwcms["site"]              = "http://www.domain.de/~blabla/'";
$phpwcms["admin_email"]       = "";

// paths
$phpwcms["root"]              = "";

Posted: Mon 7. Jun 2004, 13:01
by Oliver Georgi
you have to check what your $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] is. Based on that you have to choose. Most times it's better to use:

Code: Select all

$phpwcms['site'] = 'http://www.mysite.com/~username/';
$phpwcms['root'] = '';
add in conf.inc.php:

Code: Select all

$_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] = '/home/path/~username';
Oliver

Posted: Mon 7. Jun 2004, 21:25
by Bogataj
thanks a lot guys...
btw i like the cms very much... ;)

Posted: Mon 7. Jun 2004, 21:54
by SNap
Oliver is it possible that phpwcms does not work on a different port than 80?

Posted: Mon 7. Jun 2004, 22:06
by Oliver Georgi
Normally no problem.

Because the port number is part of the URL
$phpwcms['site'] = 'http://www.mysite.com:80/';

Oliver

Posted: Mon 7. Jun 2004, 23:26
by SNap
yeah, i thought so, too. but try to login with default login at http://snap2k.dyndns.org:8050/

Posted: Mon 7. Jun 2004, 23:31
by frold
SNap wrote:yeah, i thought so, too. but try to login with default login at http://snap2k.dyndns.org:8050/
I can login now :D - what did you do?