username and password problem

Please post all install related problems here. Visit this forum first for troubleshooting.
Post Reply
codejunki
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat 12. Aug 2006, 19:42

username and password problem

Post by codejunki »

step 1 works fine
tables are created in database

so my database details must be correct

step 2 i cant create an administrator account
i get :

please check admin username and password.

the process will only move on if i de-select the tick box
all sections are then green at the ed of the installation.

iv already tried deleting the tables and re doing all steps
and i have tried re creating the database and re doin all steps

and still no success

iv looked through other posts with similar problems
iv tried using mysql 4 instead of 5

not sure what else i can do.

do i have to set file privilages for an instalation
running on my local machine
User avatar
DeXXus
Posts: 2168
Joined: Fri 28. Nov 2003, 06:20
Location: USA - Florida

Post by DeXXus »

codejunki
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat 12. Aug 2006, 19:42

Post by codejunki »

DB user and Admin account are not the same! Db username and password are something you create (or have been given by your host).

You provide phpWCMS install script with this username, password, the address to your MySQL database and the name of the database you want phpWCMS to use (where you have already created a database for phpWCMS).

You make sure you checkmark "Create admin account" and leave default (u:webmaster p:admin).

If everything is GREEN then phpWCMS is confirming that your answers were entered in the proper format for it to proceed. (NOT that it has "connected" yet)

Then phpWCMS uses this info (that you gave) to try connecting to database and creating tables and "default" Admin user.

If you give it a database URL, username, password that is not right (or it cannot connect, because the database is down)
You will get a message that says:-->Check your admin user name and password!

If all goes well... Later you login with "default" Admin user and change Admin users to your liking. confirm that it is working and then delete SETUP folder.
_________________
{docu}phpWCMS{/docu}<WOW>{faq}phpWCMS{/faq}
=> Basic Steps of Site Development using phpWCMS <=



this hasnt help

if the tables have been created by the setup obviously
my database name, username and password are correct

You make sure you checkmark "Create admin account" and leave default (u:webmaster p:admin).

i am doing this and still it is not working

everything is GREEN

but no admin account is created so i cant log in
codejunki
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat 12. Aug 2006, 19:42

step 2 sql

Post by codejunki »

i have opened setup.php

and copied the insert sql :


$sql = "INSERT INTO ".$phpwcms["db_prepend"]."phpwcms_user (usr_login, usr_pass, usr_email, ".
"usr_admin, usr_aktiv, usr_name, usr_fe ) VALUES ('".
aporeplace($phpwcms["admin_user"])."', '".
aporeplace(md5($phpwcms["admin_pass"]))."', '".
aporeplace($phpwcms["admin_email"])."', 1, 1, '".aporeplace($phpwcms['SMTP_FROM_NAME'])."', 2);";
mysql_query($sql,$db) or $err = 1;

when i try to insert i get this

Field 'usr_var_structure' doesn't have a default value

is this is what is cousing $err = 1; ??


what should be in the 'usr_var_structure'??
codejunki
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat 12. Aug 2006, 19:42

the answer are out there for step 2

Post by codejunki »

migrated from 4.0 to 5.0 and all of a sudden mysql's sensitivity went through the roof, and queries failed. You can override the features listed on this page by making your first query:

SET @@global.sql_mode='';

Which will take away all sql modes. The documentation didn't seem to be clear on this as far as NEGATING one of these flags but that's how it's done.

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/ ... -mode.html
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9892
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

which release of phpwcms do you use?

And error in combination with which MySQL version: 4.0, 4.1 or 5.x?

Oliver
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
codejunki
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat 12. Aug 2006, 19:42

Post by codejunki »

i am using the latest version 1.2.6
MySQL - 5.0.24
phpMyAdmin - 2.8.2.1
php 5
User avatar
pico
Posts: 2595
Joined: Wed 28. Jul 2004, 18:04
Location: Frankfurt/M Germany
Contact:

Post by pico »

Hi

think it has to do with the new mySQL 'strict'-Mode Setting - had this Problem on my Testserver - after changing this in my.ini everthing works fine again.
Lieber Gott gib mir Geduld - ABER BEEIL DICH
Horst - find me at Musiker-Board
User avatar
aaronazz
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu 27. Jan 2005, 05:46
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Contact:

Re: username and password problem

Post by aaronazz »

What exactly should it be set to? I am having the same trouble with PHPWCMS 1.3.3. I have done many successful installations previously, including recent 1.3.3. The only difference is that this time is on a server other than my own. It is a Microsoft-IIS/6.0 running PHP 5.2.5 and MySQL 5.0.45

I have done a lot of reading of dead-ended threads on the forum, and there are a few common suggestions: check the auto-increment setting, and check the SQL Mode. Mine is set as:

Code: Select all

sql mode: STRICT_TRANS_TABLES,NO_AUTO_CREATE_USER,NO_ENGINE_SUBSTITUTION
What should it be set as?

Thanks in advance for your assistance.
Aaron.
Post Reply