empty/blank index.php

Please post all install related problems here. Visit this forum first for troubleshooting.
User avatar
DeXXus
Posts: 2168
Joined: Fri 28. Nov 2003, 06:20
Location: USA - Florida

Post by DeXXus »

DeXXus wrote:What you should probably do is post the contents of your "config.inc.php"(minus user/password) and let us have a look :wink:
sheryco
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon 15. Mar 2004, 00:59

Post by sheryco »

Okay Okay here it is:

// phpwcms base values -> needed in any document

// database values
$phpwcms["db_host"] = "127.0.0.1";
$phpwcms["db_user"] = "user";
$phpwcms["db_pass"] = "mypass";
$phpwcms["db_table"] = "mysql";
$phpwcms["db_prepend"] = "";
$phpwcms["db_pers"] = 1;

// site values
$phpwcms["site"] = "http://127.0.0.1/";
$phpwcms["admin_email"] = "site@mysite.net";

// paths
$phpwcms["root"] = "";
$phpwcms["file_path"] = "phpwcms_filestorage";
$phpwcms["file_tmp"] = "phpwcms_tmp";
$phpwcms["templates"] = "phpwcms_template";
$phpwcms["dir_thlist"] = "thumb_list";
$phpwcms["dir_preview"] = "thumb_preview";
$phpwcms["content_path"] = "content";
$phpwcms["cimage_path"] = "images";
$phpwcms["ftp_path"] = "phpwcms_ftp";
// content values
$phpwcms["file_maxsize"] = 2097152; //Bytes (50 x 1024 x 1024)
$phpwcms["content_width"] = 400; //max width of the article content column - important for rendering multi column images
$phpwcms["img_list_width"] = 100; //max with of the list thumbnail image
$phpwcms["img_list_height"] = 75; //max height of the list thumbnail image
$phpwcms["img_prev_width"] = 550; //max width of the large preview image
$phpwcms["img_prev_height"] = 400; //max height of the large preview image
$phpwcms["max_time"] = 1800; //logout after max_time/60 seconds

// other stuff
$phpwcms["compress_page"] = 0; //wenn 1 = Seite komprimieren, 0 = Kompresion aus
$phpwcms["imagick"] = 0; //if 0 = GD, 1 = ImageMagick convert
$phpwcms["imagick_path"] = ""; //Path to ImageMagick
$phpwcms["use_gd2"] = 0; //if 0 = GD1, 1 = GD2
$phpwcms["rewrite_url"] = 0; //whether URL should be rewritable
$phpwcms["phpmyadmin"] = 1; //enable/disable phpMyAdmin in Backend admin section
$phpwcms["default_lang"] = "en"; //default language
$phpwcms["wysiwyg_editor"] = 1; //0 = no wysiwyg editor, 1 = HTMLarea, 2 = FCKeditor, 3 = browser based
$phpwcms["charset"] = "iso-8859-1"; //default charset "iso-8859-1"

// dynamic ssl encryption engine
$phpwcms["site_ssl_mode"] = "0"; // tuns the SSL Support of WCMS on(1) or off (0) DEFAULT '0'
$phpwcms["site_ssl_url"] = ""; //URL assigned to the SSL Certificate. DON'T add a slash at the End! Exp. "https://www.yourdomain$
$phpwcms["site_ssl_port"] = "443"; //The Port on which you SSL Service serve the secure Sites. Servers DEFAULT is '443'

debug please :(
BLOWFISH 3.4 OORRAAH!!
DAEMONDOG
User avatar
DeXXus
Posts: 2168
Joined: Fri 28. Nov 2003, 06:20
Location: USA - Florida

Post by DeXXus »

Well those settings look fine for an installation that put phpWCMS directly into the server's "root" folder. And, if you have definitely already created the phpMySQL database named "mysql"... then the "config.inc.php" file is probably ~not~ your problem.

You might try editing the "php.ini" file to enable ~all~ notices -and- errors by changing the following line:
error_reporting=E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE
to this:
error_reporting= E_ALL
Additionally, you could try some things like checking that browser cookies are enabled, turning off firewalls and temporarily disabling anti-virus programs.

Is it Apache or IIS, because IIS can have issues with the DOCUMENT_ROOT variable. If you are using IIS, try hardcoding it into "config.inc.php" like this example:
$_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] = "c:/wwwroot/";
(substituting, of course, your "drive letter:/path/to/server/root/"; )
sheryco
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon 15. Mar 2004, 00:59

Post by sheryco »

The setting in my php.ini file is already set to that and my http.conf file path/to/server/root/ is fine. Cleared all my cookies on my browser. Maybe because i"m running on OpenBSD.
It is hard to think here anyone help i'm brain fried right about now.
thanks Dexxus for taking the time.
I guess i'm going to give up on phpwcms for now

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My system => OpenBSD 3.4 | Apache 1.3 | PHP 4.3 | MySQL 3.23 | running on a 100MHZ | 32MB | 2 GB | Dell Latitude Laptop
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Last edited by sheryco on Thu 18. Mar 2004, 16:30, edited 1 time in total.
BLOWFISH 3.4 OORRAAH!!
DAEMONDOG
User avatar
pSouper
Posts: 1552
Joined: Tue 11. Nov 2003, 15:45
Location: London
Contact:

Post by pSouper »

An exelent guide Dexxus, one that has been polished over time like a smooth and rounded pebble :)
User avatar
DeXXus
Posts: 2168
Joined: Fri 28. Nov 2003, 06:20
Location: USA - Florida

Post by DeXXus »

Shame there's not a single error message to go on:-(
It's wild that clicking on any link in Admin just leaves you at the login page.
Post Reply