horizontal navigation

Get help with installation and running phpwcms here. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.
Post Reply
dexter
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri 12. Mar 2004, 15:25
Location: Vancouver/British Columbia
Contact:

horizontal navigation

Post by dexter »

hi!

to run the risk of a doubleposting, but i cant find anything by using the search.

so, how can i create a horizontal navigation?
{NAV_TABLE_SIMPLE} produce only a vertical navigation.

regards
dex
Jan212
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed 28. Jan 2004, 21:38
Location: Solingen
Contact:

Post by Jan212 »

hi dexter,
{NAV_LIST_TOP} or {NAV_LIST_TOP:NameOfTheWebSiteIndex:ClassName}
Regards/ Grüsse/ Groetjes - JAN212
------------------------------------------------
null212 - Büro für Kommunikation und Design
------------------------------------------------
Lyrikfetzen des Tages
1. Ist der Quelltext auch valide fragt Herr Müller ganz perfide.
2. Wat is dat een lekker ding.
3. Wer Vision hat soll zum Arzt gehen.
------------------------------------------------
dexter
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri 12. Mar 2004, 15:25
Location: Vancouver/British Columbia
Contact:

Post by dexter »

sorry it doesnt work. it also a vertical navigation, now in list form
Jan212
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed 28. Jan 2004, 21:38
Location: Solingen
Contact:

Post by Jan212 »

than {NAV_TABLE_COLUMN}
Regards/ Grüsse/ Groetjes - JAN212
------------------------------------------------
null212 - Büro für Kommunikation und Design
------------------------------------------------
Lyrikfetzen des Tages
1. Ist der Quelltext auch valide fragt Herr Müller ganz perfide.
2. Wat is dat een lekker ding.
3. Wer Vision hat soll zum Arzt gehen.
------------------------------------------------
Jan212
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed 28. Jan 2004, 21:38
Location: Solingen
Contact:

Post by Jan212 »

horizontal is a---------------------------b

vertical is a
|
|
|
b

couldn't follow ya
Regards/ Grüsse/ Groetjes - JAN212
------------------------------------------------
null212 - Büro für Kommunikation und Design
------------------------------------------------
Lyrikfetzen des Tages
1. Ist der Quelltext auch valide fragt Herr Müller ganz perfide.
2. Wat is dat een lekker ding.
3. Wer Vision hat soll zum Arzt gehen.
------------------------------------------------
dexter
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri 12. Mar 2004, 15:25
Location: Vancouver/British Columbia
Contact:

Post by dexter »

i dont know wether it depends on the nav tag, but that all creates a navigation in vertical form. but what i search is that like this
home | site 1 | site2 | site 3

thanks
regards
dex
Jan212
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed 28. Jan 2004, 21:38
Location: Solingen
Contact:

Post by Jan212 »

like the navi on my site shown in signature?
Regards/ Grüsse/ Groetjes - JAN212
------------------------------------------------
null212 - Büro für Kommunikation und Design
------------------------------------------------
Lyrikfetzen des Tages
1. Ist der Quelltext auch valide fragt Herr Müller ganz perfide.
2. Wat is dat een lekker ding.
3. Wer Vision hat soll zum Arzt gehen.
------------------------------------------------
dexter
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri 12. Mar 2004, 15:25
Location: Vancouver/British Columbia
Contact:

Post by dexter »

yes
Jan212
Posts: 859
Joined: Wed 28. Jan 2004, 21:38
Location: Solingen
Contact:

Post by Jan212 »

I did it with the {NAV_LIST_TOP} und modify the sylesheet like

Code: Select all

/* CSS for the top level list */
#list_top_ul {
	
	font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;
	font-size: 10px;
	font-weight: bold;
}
#list_top_ul li {
	list-style: none;
	display: inline;
}
#list_top_ul li a {
	
	margin-right: 10px;
         background: #FFFFFF;
	text-decoration: none;
}
#list_top_ul li a:link { color: #33426C; }
#list_top_ul li a:visited { color: #33426C; }
#list_top_ul li a:hover { color: #FF2A1A }
	color: Black;
	background: #FFFFFF;
	
}
#list_top_ul li a#list_top_active_link, #list_top li a#list_top_home_active_link {
	background: white;
	
}
that's all. much fun.
Regards/ Grüsse/ Groetjes - JAN212
------------------------------------------------
null212 - Büro für Kommunikation und Design
------------------------------------------------
Lyrikfetzen des Tages
1. Ist der Quelltext auch valide fragt Herr Müller ganz perfide.
2. Wat is dat een lekker ding.
3. Wer Vision hat soll zum Arzt gehen.
------------------------------------------------
argos
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon 15. Mar 2004, 20:02

Post by argos »

I guess the replacement tag is for creating a horizontal menu, based on the sitestructure-settings, right? But what if I want to keep the standard vertical menu and have another (horizontal) menu on top. Is that possible and how should it be done? I mean, I cannot create some buttons in the header and refer to phpwcms pages, like you do with normal HTML-pages, can I?

==================================

Oops, I already found a solution on http://www.phpwcms.de/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1102
Should have looked before posting :-)
Regards,
Jurgen Nijhuis
http://www.argosmedia.nl
hidiho
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed 3. Dec 2003, 23:44

Post by hidiho »

Argos

Sure you can. Again an (tiny) example:
Suppose you've the following main entries:

Services (alias=services, id=1)
- sub service 1 (alias=services1, id=2)
- sub service 2 (alias=services2, id=3)
Contact (alias=contact, id=4)
- send a mail (alias = webform, id=5)
- location (alias = location, id=6)

If you want a horizontal and a vertical menu, whereby the vertical is based on the clicked horizontal item, there are two ways supported:

1. Create your horizontal items manually in your template, like:

Code: Select all

[url index.php?services]Our services[/url]
Then, create for each main menu entry a template (2 in this example). So a services and a contact template. In each template put {NAV_TABLE_COLUM:id} in your leftmenu part. Of course take for the services template the {NAV_TABLE_COLUM:1} and for contact
{NAV_TABLE_COLUM:4}.

2. The other way which is supported is the following:

Create a template. In the horizontal part put {NAV_LIST_TOP} (with or without the css extra tags).

Then in your left menupart of the template put {NAV_LIST_CURRENT}.

You can change the {NAV_LIST_CURRENT} with CSS.

success :wink: ,

hidiho
argos
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon 15. Mar 2004, 20:02

Post by argos »

And again you provide a very clear mini-tutorial on how to do stuff. Thanks very much for your time and effort, it's people like you that make my day :-)
Regards,
Jurgen Nijhuis
http://www.argosmedia.nl
Post Reply