ARTICLE type: Images --> patch 17-2 BUG!!

Use GitHub to post bug reports and error descriptions for phpwcms. Describe your problem detailed!
Moozie
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat 8. Nov 2003, 00:21
Location: Netherlands

ARTICLE type: Images --> patch 17-2 BUG!!

Post by Moozie »

In the 17-2 patch the images list is improved. But there is a bug in it I think:

When I choose 2 images to be placed in 2 columns, and the text under 1 image is much more than the text underneath the other, the page is all messed-up. The page is NOT devided in 2 equal columns, but the column with the most text underneath the picture is much wider (the text underneath the picture contains spaces, so that's not the point). The wide column also makes the left-navigation menu less wide. So the whole page looks messed-up.

Better is it to make the colums equally wide and fill the text underneath the pictures over more lines (like it is normally the case with text in columns).
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9900
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

Try to set table or cell width by using special class:

.image_table { width: 300px; }
.image_table td { width: 150px; }

What you see is normal.

There is another small woraround for your problem:

add a HTML content part before your images:

Code: Select all

<table width="300" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" border="0"><tr><td> 
and HTML content after images

Code: Select all

</td></tr></table>
This will wrap your image table and squeeze it to fixed width.

Regards
Oliver
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
Moozie
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat 8. Nov 2003, 00:21
Location: Netherlands

Post by Moozie »

Where do I change that? In the php-file?

In article mode you do not have room to enter html, do you? I just can select some pics and in the box underneath I can type some words for eacht pic.

I hope I can add something in the responsible php file so that I do not have to enter it at every pic. I have a lot of picture-galleries.

Where do I add the HTML?
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9900
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

No not in the images content part itself.

Create

1) HTML content part
2) Images content part
3) HTML content part
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
Moozie
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat 8. Nov 2003, 00:21
Location: Netherlands

Post by Moozie »

Mmm, isn't there a way to use the old images-listing? I mean the version before patch 17-2.

Problem with your work around is that I have to tell people how to to this, and these people are not really html geniusses.

The columns used to be very very OK. So if I change back those php for only these images, then it's working again.

Can I change it back easily to the old php version of images?
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9900
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

Hm - it is nearly the same - only that captions have an own table row.Try the class thing.

On my test install there is no problem with that - without setup workaround or class. Do can send me a link.

Oliver
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
Moozie
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat 8. Nov 2003, 00:21
Location: Netherlands

Post by Moozie »

Please check:

http://www.zone51.nl/phpwcms/index.php?id=32,0,0,1,0,0

The other buttons will display a correct navigation menu. But this one is all messed up.

Hope it can be solved within the php files...
Thanks.
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9900
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

Try to setup the class as I told you. There seems to be a problem with the pagelayout of that page.

Oliver
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
Moozie
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat 8. Nov 2003, 00:21
Location: Netherlands

Post by Moozie »

I don't know what you mean by "class-thing". Can you explain what class and where to find it?

And what do I do in that class?
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9900
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

add this line to frontend.php (or the css file you use in that pagelayout).

.image_table { width: 300px; }

Oliver
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
Moozie
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat 8. Nov 2003, 00:21
Location: Netherlands

Post by Moozie »

Now it looks like this:
http://www.zone51.nl/phpwcms/index.php?id=32,0,0,1,0,0

The nav-table is ok now, but it still looks weird that the text underneath is messed up.

Maybe this can be editted in the php file, I mean it used to be OK. In the previous version the text was perfectly in line with the picture above. There must be something changed, don't you think?
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9900
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

Oh my fault:

the class's name is "table_class" so it has to be:

.table_class {width: 300px;}

Oliver
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
Moozie
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat 8. Nov 2003, 00:21
Location: Netherlands

Post by Moozie »

Thanks Oliver!!!
That is it.


Maybe one thing: Now the vertical align of the text is "middle", where I think it's better to align it "TOP". Because if you have a pic with much much text and another one with only a short text, the short text is better placed right under the pic (so align it TOP)...
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9900
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

Check these values in conf.template_default.inc.php

Code: Select all

$template_default["article"]["image_table_class"]		= "image_table";
$template_default["article"]["image_table_bgcolor"]		= "";
$template_default["article"]["image_bgcolor"]			= "";
$template_default["article"]["image_align"]				= "";
$template_default["article"]["image_valign"]			= "";
$template_default["article"]["image_border"]			= 0;
$template_default["article"]["image_class"]				= "image_td";
$template_default["article"]["image_caption_class"]		= "image_caption";
$template_default["article"]["image_caption_bgcolor"]	= "#efefef";
$template_default["article"]["image_caption_valign"]	= "";
$template_default["article"]["image_caption_align"]		= "center";
$template_default["article"]["image_caption_before"]	= '<img src="img/leer.gif" width="1" height="3"><br>';
$template_default["article"]["image_caption_after"]		= '<br><img src="img/leer.gif" width="1" height="3">';
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
Moozie
Posts: 164
Joined: Sat 8. Nov 2003, 00:21
Location: Netherlands

Post by Moozie »

This is it. Thanks a lot Oliver.

$template_default["article"]["image_caption_valign"] = "top";
Locked