Path problem (SOLVED (by the master himself))

Get help with installation and running phpwcms here. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.
Post Reply
Lumimies
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat 25. Sep 2004, 14:03
Location: Suomi - Finland

Path problem (SOLVED (by the master himself))

Post by Lumimies »

Hello!

I have some serious problems with paths. I just installed DEV 1.2.5 - everything was fine before the last step of setup script. Every folder was RED with the text "not existing" (but the folders are there and they are writeable)


I have made the "DOCUMENT_ROOT test that gave me:

----------------

phpwcms DOCUMENT_ROOT test

This file has to be placed in your web root - do not
put it into any subdir of your webspace

1) your default $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT']: /home/dummy/public_html
2) real DOCUMENT_ROOT based on this file : /home/savonmaa/public_html

If (1) and (2) not equal then add following
line at the end of your conf.inc.php but before ending "?>":

$_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] = '/home/savonmaa/public_html';

Check if this is corresponding with the subdir
in which phpwcms is installed:

$phpwcms['root'] = "home/savonmaa/public_html";

If so - everything is fine too, also if this is empty.
Maybe some leading/ending slash "/" is there.
That's no problem here, but remove leading or
ending slashes. Do never use the backslash "\"
in paths on Windows - this may fail.

----------------------

... so I edited my "conf_inc.php" as requested. Now it seems that everything else works but I CANNOT EDIT ARTICLES.

I reach my site thru "http://62.78.102.35/~savonmaa"


I think that the problem is with that "~"


Any suggestions?



This is my conf.inc.php: (part of it)


<?php

// database values
$phpwcms["db_host"] = "localhost";
$phpwcms["db_user"] = "*********";
$phpwcms["db_pass"] = "*********";
$phpwcms["db_table"] = "********";
$phpwcms["db_prepend"] = "";
$phpwcms["db_pers"] = 1;

// site values
$phpwcms["site"] = "http://62.78.102.35/";
$phpwcms["admin_email"] = "****************";

// paths
$_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] = '/home/savonmaa/public_html';


$phpwcms["DOC_ROOT"] = $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'];
$phpwcms["root"] = "~savonmaa"; //default: ""
$phpwcms["file_path"] = "phpwcms_filestorage"; //default: "phpwcms_filestorage"
$phpwcms["templates"] = "phpwcms_template"; //default: "phpwcms_template"
$phpwcms["content_path"] = "content"; //default: "content"
$phpwcms["cimage_path"] = "images"; //default: "images"
$phpwcms["ftp_path"] = "phpwcms_ftp"; //default: "phpwcms_ftp"

/////////////// (cutted out unnecessary part) ///////////////////////////////
// Try to check and uncomment the DOCUMENT_ROOT if you have problems
// often neccessary on IIS or default MacOS X webserver settings
// Do not use backslash "\" on Windows - always replace "\" by "/"


?>
Last edited by Lumimies on Sat 3. Sep 2005, 14:38, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9903
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

You have to use:

Code: Select all

$phpwcms["site"] = "http://62.78.102.35/~savonmaa/";

// paths - not neccessary anymore to do so...
//$_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] = '/home/savonmaa/public_html';
$phpwcms["DOC_ROOT"] = '/home/savonmaa/public_html'; 
This should solve your problem.

Oliver
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
Lumimies
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat 25. Sep 2004, 14:03
Location: Suomi - Finland

That was it! Thank You!

Post by Lumimies »

Hello Oliver!

That solved my problem! ;-) Thank You man!

..and thank You for this great product.

Regards

Lumimies
Post Reply