cannot instantiate non-existent class

Get help with installation and running phpwcms here. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.
Post Reply
Pageman
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun 5. Jun 2005, 21:15

cannot instantiate non-existent class

Post by Pageman »

Anybody know what this means?

Fatal error: Cannot instantiate non-existent class: ss_image in /myroot/include/inc_lib/imagick.convert.inc.php on line 192
frold
Posts: 2151
Joined: Tue 25. Nov 2003, 22:42

Post by frold »

I guess it is because your server doesnt have IM (imagemagic) installed - try to switch to GD instead... you can do that in conf.inc.php in the config folder
http://www.studmed.dk Portal for doctors and medical students in Denmark
Pageman
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun 5. Jun 2005, 21:15

Post by Pageman »

Thanks for the reply. That's my working theory at this point. I downloaded I..magick but I've yet to explore deep enough to know if I can install it in my space, or if the server host has to install it .

But the config file was already set up for GD -- I tried both one and two, and still got the same no imagick error message. It seems the message should say no GD if I'm configed to GD.
Pageman
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun 5. Jun 2005, 21:15

Post by Pageman »

Ooops ... looks like it was the other way around -- I needed to enable I-magick, but for whatever reason, I did not have to specify a pathway, at least not to kill the error message and start uploading images.
Pappnase

Re: cannot instantiate non-existent class

Post by Pappnase »

Pageman wrote:Anybody know what this means?

Fatal error: Cannot instantiate non-existent class: ss_image in /myroot/include/inc_lib/imagick.convert.inc.php on line 192
hello

wich version did you use!?
Pageman
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun 5. Jun 2005, 21:15

Post by Pageman »

That part of the config looks like:


$phpwcms["imagick"] = 1; //0 = GD, 1 = ImageMagick, 2 = ImageMagick 4.2.9
$phpwcms["imagick_path"] = ""; //Path to ImageMagick (default="" - none)
$phpwcms["use_gd2"] = 1; //0 = GD1, 1 = GD2


Whatever I first tried must've been whatever was the default config; I don't remember configuring anything related, though I do remember noting the image-processor-required message in the documentation and hoping my host already has it on the server.

My current status is I was able to upload images and got no more error messages, after reconfiguring this part of the config, but I don't yet know if I can resize the images and haven't yet heard from my host about what is on their server or a path to ImageMagick.
Pappnase

Post by Pappnase »

hello

change to

Code: Select all

$phpwcms["imagick"] = 0; //0 = GD, 1 = ImageMagick, 2 = ImageMagick 4.2.9 
$phpwcms["imagick_path"] = ""; //Path to ImageMagick (default="" - none) 
$phpwcms["use_gd2"] = 1; //0 = GD1, 1 = GD2 
baptdk
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon 11. Aug 2008, 23:39

Re: cannot instantiate non-existent class

Post by baptdk »

I seem to have the same problem as here, but I have another installation of phpwcms on the server to another website and uploading of files and use of these works just fine.
But on the first page (not updated to newest version like the other, cause I don't know how to update) I can upload files, but when trying to use them the following error comes up:

Fatal error: Cannot instantiate non-existent class: ss_image in /hsphere/local/home/sofrdk/bapt.dk/include/inc_lib/imagick.convert.inc.php on line 198

This file say this on line 198:

$image = new ss_image($imagick["image_dir"].$imagick["image_name"], "f"); //given original image

My settings are as said in here:

$phpwcms["imagick"] = 0; //0 = GD, 1 = ImageMagick, 2 = ImageMagick 4.2.9
$phpwcms["imagick_path"] = ''; //Path to ImageMagick (default="" - none)
$phpwcms["use_gd2"] = 1; //0 = GD1, 1 = GD2

But nothing works.

Maybe an upgrade to newest version will work, but how do I do that?
Post Reply