CSS Dropdown Menu
Yeah you can't be all things to all people. But my audience is specifically commercial. The good news is that standards are only getting better and inferior browsers are on their way out. My clients won't care much about appeasing the oldbrow crowd. Instead they'll be mainly dealing with other industry professionals. I wouldn't use such cutting edge developments if clients have a deep interest in being compatible with average consumer platforms.
Though not totally perfect with the oldshoolers, I think my recent design satisfies the larger majority by providing sufficient navigation, and also gets us going in the right direction in designing CMS for the future.
If you want the majority of people who care enough to use the most recent versions of IE & safari (v1.2.x released with panther in q1 2004) to see your site pop, I would use dropdown menus. Otherwise, I'd stick with the left justified navbars that PHPWCMS offers.
I'm willing to integrate the best of both worlds to find a balanced result. Good luck.
~toszter
Though not totally perfect with the oldshoolers, I think my recent design satisfies the larger majority by providing sufficient navigation, and also gets us going in the right direction in designing CMS for the future.
If you want the majority of people who care enough to use the most recent versions of IE & safari (v1.2.x released with panther in q1 2004) to see your site pop, I would use dropdown menus. Otherwise, I'd stick with the left justified navbars that PHPWCMS offers.
I'm willing to integrate the best of both worlds to find a balanced result. Good luck.
~toszter
- my humble contributions:
- [RepTag.1.2.1-DEV] CSS Driven Dropdown Menu {VERT_DROPDOWN} No JavaScript
- get phpwcms mods, tweaks, & hacks
- [RepTag.1.2.1-DEV] CSS Driven Dropdown Menu {VERT_DROPDOWN} No JavaScript
- get phpwcms mods, tweaks, & hacks
hi to all,
now i have made screenshots of all 4 URLs.
I do now a collection and retouching and will be able to show this in half an hour... :-)
EDITED:
You can download the visual test here:
http://www.weitzeldesign.de/CSS_Menue_c ... MACOSX.pdf
(2,1 MB, 7 pages)
Did I forgot something?
I hope I don't. :-)
now i have made screenshots of all 4 URLs.
I do now a collection and retouching and will be able to show this in half an hour... :-)
EDITED:
You can download the visual test here:
http://www.weitzeldesign.de/CSS_Menue_c ... MACOSX.pdf
(2,1 MB, 7 pages)
Did I forgot something?
I hope I don't. :-)
Gruß/ regards cyrano
--------------------------------------------------------
templates -> http://www.128.weitzelmedia.de
planepix -> http://www.planepix.de
XING -> https://www.xing.com/profile/Thomas_Weitzel3
--------------------------------------------------------
templates -> http://www.128.weitzelmedia.de
planepix -> http://www.planepix.de
XING -> https://www.xing.com/profile/Thomas_Weitzel3
Thanks man!!
Great work!
I am VERY suprised that the ALA dropdown works because I have read that it didn't work with IE 5.2...Hmm, strange...But it is great though, it should be safe to use it then! Cool!
Take care and thank you very much for this great looking test!
/ Gnolen
P.S. I am waiting for an Imac that I am now going to use just for website testing..they are really inexpensive!
Great work!
I am VERY suprised that the ALA dropdown works because I have read that it didn't work with IE 5.2...Hmm, strange...But it is great though, it should be safe to use it then! Cool!
Take care and thank you very much for this great looking test!
/ Gnolen
P.S. I am waiting for an Imac that I am now going to use just for website testing..they are really inexpensive!
- marcus@localhorst
- Posts: 815
- Joined: Fri 28. May 2004, 11:31
- Location: localhorst
- Contact:
holla, i've got an problem with that Menu, because i need some more options...
i try to describe that:
i've got that list
every menuroot should have another class (because i need other background colors)
i played a little with the build_dhtmlmenu() function, but i have no idea how i find the root element and how to add the class to the right <li> tag
result should look like that
how must i change the function to get this?
hope someone can help me!!! please
best wishes
marcus
i try to describe that:
i've got that list
Code: Select all
----------------- RED
+ menuroot 1
+ menu 1.1
+ menu 1.2
+ menu 1.2.1
+ menu 1.2.2
+ menu 1.3
----------------- /RED
----------------- GREEN
+ menuroot 2
...more items
----------------- /GREEN
----------------- YELLOW
+ menuroot 3
----------------- /YELLOW
i played a little with the build_dhtmlmenu() function, but i have no idea how i find the root element and how to add the class to the right <li> tag
result should look like that
Code: Select all
<ul id="nav">
<li class="root1">menuroot1
<ul>
<li>menu1.1</li>
<li>menu1.2</li>
<li>menu1.3</li>
</ul>
</li>
<li class="root2">menuroot2
<ul>
<li>menu2.1</li>
<li>menu2.2</li>
<li>menu2.3</li>
</ul>
</li>
</ul>
hope someone can help me!!! please
best wishes
marcus
hi there,
i only get something like this:
but i need it more complex so that every line has its own style. i have uncommented sublevelnav.php und set the two 1s in config.inc but nothing happens. the reptag shows like this:
anyone out there with help?
cheers
rush[/code]
i only get something like this:
Code: Select all
<div id="nav">
<ul class="nav0">
<li class="navActive0"><a href="index.php?id=1,0,0,1,0,0">ebene 1</a><ul class="nav1">
<li><a href="index.php?id=4,0,0,1,0,0">ebene 1.1</a></li>
<li><a href="index.php?id=5,0,0,1,0,0">ebene 1.2</a></li>
</ul></li>
<li><a href="index.php?id=2,0,0,1,0,0">ebene 2</a></li>
<li><a href="index.php?id=3,0,0,1,0,0">ebene 3</a></li>
</ul>
</div>
Code: Select all
{NAV_LIST:0:nav}
cheers
rush[/code]
3 (!) Jahre warten reichen mir. Ich bin erst mal weg.
hi to all users of the css menue,
hi to toszter,
i implemented the last version found at dv.brenner.
i got a nice vertical menue, but my subcategories are displayed under the top levels - i would like to have them right beside the main menue.
is this possible yet?
what do i have to do to change the behaviour therefore?
thank you for hints.
hi to toszter,
i implemented the last version found at dv.brenner.
i got a nice vertical menue, but my subcategories are displayed under the top levels - i would like to have them right beside the main menue.
is this possible yet?
what do i have to do to change the behaviour therefore?
thank you for hints.
Gruß/ regards cyrano
--------------------------------------------------------
templates -> http://www.128.weitzelmedia.de
planepix -> http://www.planepix.de
XING -> https://www.xing.com/profile/Thomas_Weitzel3
--------------------------------------------------------
templates -> http://www.128.weitzelmedia.de
planepix -> http://www.planepix.de
XING -> https://www.xing.com/profile/Thomas_Weitzel3
So you want a horizontal menu that unfolds from left to right? I am working on that as well. Same functionality as the {vert_dropdown} but the top level of the menu is stacked vertically instead of horizontally. Its very simple but I'm lacking the free time to implement it. Check the dev.brenner site for posts in the coming weeks. Be patient, it will be there.cyrano wrote:hi to all users of the css menue,
hi to toszter,
i implemented the last version found at dv.brenner.
i got a nice vertical menue, but my subcategories are displayed under the top levels - i would like to have them right beside the main menue.
is this possible yet?
what do i have to do to change the behaviour therefore?
thank you for hints.
To the others having issues getting custom subclasses... find the function in on eof the inc files that builds the dhtml list, modify it the way you need it to follow your logic. Good luck.
~toszter
- my humble contributions:
- [RepTag.1.2.1-DEV] CSS Driven Dropdown Menu {VERT_DROPDOWN} No JavaScript
- get phpwcms mods, tweaks, & hacks
- [RepTag.1.2.1-DEV] CSS Driven Dropdown Menu {VERT_DROPDOWN} No JavaScript
- get phpwcms mods, tweaks, & hacks
Customize selected level
Hi,
It is possible customize selected level in CSS-menu (in {VERT_DROPDOWN}, {DROPDOWN:integer} or in other rep-tags) when I selected eg. "menu2" level?
eg:
Tnx, Paul
It is possible customize selected level in CSS-menu (in {VERT_DROPDOWN}, {DROPDOWN:integer} or in other rep-tags) when I selected eg. "menu2" level?
eg:
Code: Select all
<ul>
<li><a href="#">menu1</a></li>
<li id="selectedMenuItem"><a href="#">menu2</a></li>
</ul>
- marcus@localhorst
- Posts: 815
- Joined: Fri 28. May 2004, 11:31
- Location: localhorst
- Contact:
- marcus@localhorst
- Posts: 815
- Joined: Fri 28. May 2004, 11:31
- Location: localhorst
- Contact: