Articles without the "more"

Get help with installation and running phpwcms here. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.
nsnook
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri 30. Apr 2004, 22:08

Articles without the "more"

Post by nsnook »

This is the site I am currently working on (so you can tell if I figure it out)
http://bsticker.com/tkd/index.php?id=3,0,0,1,0,0

I am trying to get an article to display itself fully, without the "more" option.
I am not sure how to disable it.

The idea really is that I would like to list and display all the articles... instead of having to click on each one to see them.

Or maybe control that only 4 articles are displayed & after that you need to click on them. I am not sure.

If anyone has a better suggestion I am DEFINATELY open to that as well. I am not even an amatuer at web design, PHP, or phpWCMS.

Thanks!
Nathan
frold
Posts: 2151
Joined: Tue 25. Nov 2003, 22:42

Post by frold »

I think you have to do this..

Go to admin > site structure > edit the level where you want to show the whole articles... set top article count: to 99

If you use version RC4 - else you can set it in conf.template.default.php
$template_default["top_count"] = 1;
change to
$template_default["top_count"] = 99;
http://www.studmed.dk Portal for doctors and medical students in Denmark
User avatar
pSouper
Posts: 1552
Joined: Tue 11. Nov 2003, 15:45
Location: London
Contact:

Post by pSouper »

you could go in to the conf.default_template.inc.php file and change the 'more...' to "" i guess.
Pappnase

Post by Pappnase »

frold wrote:I think you have to do this..

Go to admin > site structure > edit the level where you want to show the whole articles... set top article count: to 99

If you use version RC4 - else you can set it in conf.template.default.php
$template_default["top_count"] = 1;
change to
$template_default["top_count"] = 99;
hello frold

since realeas RC3 you can edit this in the admin backen at the structure level createn or if you edit one! the is an field called "top articles"
Pappnase

Post by Pappnase »

frold wrote:I think you have to do this..

Go to admin > site structure > edit the level where you want to show the whole articles... set top article count: to 99

If you use version RC4 - else you can set it in conf.template.default.php
$template_default["top_count"] = 1;
change to
$template_default["top_count"] = 99;
hello frold

since release RC3 you can edit this in the admin backend at the structure level create or if you edit one! the is an field called "top articles"
Last edited by Pappnase on Fri 11. Jun 2004, 07:01, edited 1 time in total.
frold
Posts: 2151
Joined: Tue 25. Nov 2003, 22:42

Post by frold »

try to read my post again ;-)
http://www.studmed.dk Portal for doctors and medical students in Denmark
Pappnase

Post by Pappnase »

ups could happen i'm german!*smile*
oleane
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon 26. Apr 2004, 22:07

Post by oleane »

Hello,
When i set the TOP ARTICLE COUNT to 99 in the admin level structure setup
the "more" option appear again and other article text show too :?

This is my structure :


Main article TITLE
bla bla bla
bla bla bla


- article A-1 TITLE
- article A-2 TITLE
- article A-3 TITLE
nsnook
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri 30. Apr 2004, 22:08

THANKS!

Post by nsnook »

This solved my problem (from frold):

If you use version RC4 - else you can set it in conf.template.default.php
ttemplate_default["top_count"] = 1;
change to
$template_default["top_count"] = 99;
1996 328ti
Posts: 317
Joined: Mon 19. Apr 2004, 06:10
Location: Greenville, SC USA
Contact:

Post by 1996 328ti »

I've been looking for a similar solution.
I have article count set to 99.

The 'more' is always displayed at the end of the summary section which is fine if there is actually more to read when the article is clicked. But I have a few articles that the only text I have is the summary. Clicking on more just shows the same text, since there is nothing more to see. The more is redundant.
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9907
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

The more-link is displayed if you have more than one article under same level - if you want to have an article displayed fully - then you should create only 1 article in the structure - put other articles in a deeper level (at the moment). I'm working on a solution by introducing a new setting for an article - top article. Such article will be displayed completely.

Oliver
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
1996 328ti
Posts: 317
Joined: Mon 19. Apr 2004, 06:10
Location: Greenville, SC USA
Contact:

Post by 1996 328ti »

Ah. . .
Thank you for your support!
I try to read severeal posts a day to get up to speed.
Some of the sites I've seen created with WCMS just floor me.

I have been looking for something like this for months.
I'm a Mac guy and there are some quirks using Safari and Explorer but the latest version of Netscape seems to work fine.

Thank you for such a great product.
1996 328ti
Posts: 317
Joined: Mon 19. Apr 2004, 06:10
Location: Greenville, SC USA
Contact:

Post by 1996 328ti »

Oliver Georgi wrote:The more-link is displayed if you have more than one article under same level - if you want to have an article displayed fully - then you should create only 1 article in the structure - put other articles in a deeper level (at the moment). I'm working on a solution by introducing a new setting for an article - top article. Such article will be displayed completely.

Oliver
If someone can take a look at
http://www.nccbmwcca.org/index.php?id=56,0,0,1,0,0

Notice each article has more. . .
but there really is nothing more to read.

Any workaround to remove the more. . . in this case?
I do not want to remove 'more. . .' from other sections.
Pappnase

Post by Pappnase »

hello!

yes if you use the 3.6.2004 Version you can create your own article listing template! i have also one created without an more link look at this.

Code: Select all

<div>
<table cellspacing="0" cellpadding="5" border="0" width="100%">
<tr>
	<td>[TITLE]<b>{TITLE}</b>[/TITLE]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
	<td>{SUMMARY}</td>
</tr>
<tr>
	<td height="30px"></td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>
you find the templates in /phpwcms_template/inc_cntpart/articlesummary/list/news.tmpl
Last edited by Pappnase on Mon 14. Jun 2004, 15:47, edited 1 time in total.
1996 328ti
Posts: 317
Joined: Mon 19. Apr 2004, 06:10
Location: Greenville, SC USA
Contact:

Post by 1996 328ti »

Pappnase wrote:hello!
yes if you use the 6.3. Version you can create your own article listing template!
6.3?
Currently I have Release 1.1-RC4 22-05-2004 installed.
Is there also a tutorial somewhere on creating templates?
Post Reply