Page 1 of 1
IE showing a blank page occasionaly!
Posted: Sun 15. May 2005, 14:08
by media2nd
I am using phpwcms v1.2.1-DEV (on
http://www.termo-instal.ro/) and sometimes I get a blank page in Internet Explorer 6 (Win Xp, SP2) when i move from one article to another...
Further more, when I click the Refresh Button of the browser, the article magically appears. I have also noticed that when this problem occurs, the page url remains the same. For example, if we are in article
http://www.termo-instal.ro/index.php?id=1,0,0,1,0,0 and we want to move in article
http://www.termo-instal.ro/index.php?id=3,0,0,1,0,0 we could have one of the following:
1. the page displays normally (the url is changed) or
2. IE displays a blank page (the first url appears in the addres bar) and clicking on the view source action does not work. A refresh solves the problem and loads the second URL.
I have tested the site in Firefox and it works just fine!
Any sugestions?
Me again...
Posted: Sun 15. May 2005, 15:23
by media2nd
I noticed the problem does not occur when I am logged in (and the red label appears). This gets really wierd!
Posted: Mon 16. May 2005, 15:54
by Kosse
I tested what you said and it's true, weird...
A wild guess: maybe your character set? I know IE doesn't like ç and so on...
your charset now is iso-8859-2
Maybe?
Unfortunately this was true...
Posted: Thu 19. May 2005, 12:32
by media2nd
Yes, indeed, the problem was with the character set. After changing that, all worked just fine.
Are there any hacks available for this IE problem? Let's surpose i REALLY need to use iso-8859-2 (it is not my case, but maybe for others it is).
The solution I came with was to use iso-8859-1 and for special characters like ă â ş ţ î I used ă and so on... This could become a little bit frustrating, though...
Re: Unfortunately this was true...
Posted: Fri 5. Aug 2005, 12:12
by st3fek
media2nd wrote:Are there any hacks available for this IE problem? Let's surpose i REALLY need to use iso-8859-2 (it is not my case, but maybe for others it is).
I REALLY need to use this character set. I'm from Poland and this iso-8859-2 support's polish special characters. So what can I do? I've got the same problem.
# EDIT #
here is a sample site with problem mentioned above:
http://e-transport.pl
Check this in IE.
Posted: Fri 5. Aug 2005, 19:00
by Kosse
Hi,
again a wild guess: try UTF-8 Unicode instead of ISO 8859-2.
As for ur page in IE, it shows ok when cache is not yet filled but when you click or reload it stucks... definitely a character issue. But I'm really not a specialist, just a try/retry mode guy. Hope you find a solution.
Cheers
Posted: Sat 6. Aug 2005, 16:39
by st3fek
Kosse, I don't want a UTF-8 charset. Anyway, I found a solution.
The problem was in compressing page in function ob_start() (line 118 in index.php, 189 in phpwcms.php)
Code: Select all
ob_start("ob_gzhandler"); //with old style GZ Compression
I found on PHP.net:
PHP.net wrote:Note: In PHP 4.0.4, ob_gzhandler() was introduced to facilitate sending gz-encoded data to web browsers that support compressed web pages. ob_gzhandler() determines what type of content encoding the browser will accept and will return its output accordingly.
So, I guess that IE dosn't support content encoding.
I switched off compressing of output in conf.inc.php and it helped:
Code: Select all
56 $phpwcms["compress_page"] = 0; // default: 3; //wenn 1 = Seite komprimieren, 0 = Kompresion aus