(Update) Help! Error while writing file to storage (1)

Get help with installation and running phpwcms here. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.
Post Reply
dpajevic
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon 31. Jan 2005, 17:39
Location: Boulder, Colorado USA

(Update) Help! Error while writing file to storage (1)

Post by dpajevic »

I just started getting this error today after I moved the site out of a folder and into the root folder. FTP takeover and uploading worked fine before. Here's the other message I get: Please dont try again - this is an server error! Contact your webmaster as soon as possible!

I changed all my paths to below by removing the subfolder name:

Code: Select all

$phpwcms["site"]              = "http://www.mysite.org/";

// paths

$phpwcms["DOC_ROOT"] 			= "E:/web/mysiteorg/htdocs";
$phpwcms["root"]         		= "";         //default: ""
$phpwcms["file_path"]         = "phpwcms_filestorage";    //default: "phpwcms_filestorage"
$phpwcms["templates"]         = "phpwcms_template";    //default: "phpwcms_template"
$phpwcms["content_path"]      = "content"; //default: "content"
$phpwcms["cimage_path"]       = "images";  //default: "images"
$phpwcms["ftp_path"]          = "phpwcms_ftp";     //default: "phpwcms_ftp"

// Try to check and uncomment the DOCUMENT_ROOT if you have problems ...
// $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT']     = 'E:/web/mysiteorg/htdocs';
Here's my setup server info:

Code: Select all

WELCOME TO PHPWCMS SETUP (VERSION 1.2.1-DEV) 
	
system:  	Windows NT WEB108 5.2 build 3790 	
server:  	Microsoft-IIS/6.0
php:  	v4.3.4
path:  	/
php.ini:  register_globals = Off ->
  	safe_mode = Off ->
Any ideas anyone? :(
Dean
User avatar
pico
Posts: 2595
Joined: Wed 28. Jul 2004, 18:04
Location: Frankfurt/M Germany
Contact:

Post by pico »

Hi

please check the Permissions of your Pathes

see
http://www.phpwcms-docu.de/dev_1_x_en.phtml/

the best way I found is to setup a Virtual-Server so that the DOC_ROOT isn't a path to a Windows Path with Backslashes.
Lieber Gott gib mir Geduld - ABER BEEIL DICH
Horst - find me at Musiker-Board
dpajevic
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon 31. Jan 2005, 17:39
Location: Boulder, Colorado USA

Post by dpajevic »

Hi Pico, I'm not sure I understand. Here's what my paths were when I had the site in a subfolder

Code: Select all

// paths
$phpwcms["DOC_ROOT"] 			= "E:/web/mysiteorg/htdocs";
$phpwcms["root"]         		= "aaa_newsite";         //default: ""
All I did was to download the site from "aaa_newsite" and reupload into the root. Then I changed paths to

Code: Select all

// paths
$phpwcms["DOC_ROOT"] 		        = "E:/web/mysiteorg/htdocs";
$phpwcms["root"]         		= "";         //default: ""
Shouldn't that just work? Or are there other files I should have changed as well? :?
Dean
kubera
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 17. Aug 2005, 18:11

Post by kubera »

Anyone an idea how to solve this? I have a simular problem....
kubera
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed 17. Aug 2005, 18:11

Post by kubera »

Problem solved....all CHMOD settings need to be changed.
newtothis
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue 17. Jan 2006, 19:49

Post by newtothis »

I am new to phpwcms - the person that set this up for me has disappeared

I am having the same error that is mentioned in this dialogue:

PC070050.JPG (Error while writing file to storage (1).)
error while file take over

What/how am I supposed to change the CHMOD?

Thanks
Ben
Posts: 558
Joined: Wed 14. Jan 2004, 08:05
Location: Atlanta
Contact:

Post by Ben »

CHMOD phpwcms_filestorage to 777
I have also gotten these errors when reaching the disk quota of the web hosting account, so you may want to check that as well.
User avatar
pico
Posts: 2595
Joined: Wed 28. Jul 2004, 18:04
Location: Frankfurt/M Germany
Contact:

Post by pico »

or your Image is too large - and the prozessing of the Thumb will exceed the Memory-Limit of your Server or runs in Timeout.
Lieber Gott gib mir Geduld - ABER BEEIL DICH
Horst - find me at Musiker-Board
Pappnase

Post by Pappnase »

hello

could it be that you use an RC 1.1. phpwcms version!? if yes you need also all dir's in the filestorage folder setup to chmod 777!
Post Reply