Customize the way content is displayed

Discuss phpwcms here, please do not post support requests, bug reports, or feature requests! Non-phpwcms questions, discussion goes in General Chat!
mfresco

Customize the way content is displayed

Post by mfresco »

Hello there!

My first post on the phpWCMS forum deals with one topic specifically: Does phpWCMS allows the developer to customize the way content is displayed :?: . This question arises from installing Mambo on my computer.

Mambo is nice, template writing easy, installing modules, components: All a piece of cake! However, I am a designer and a control-freak. With Mambo you cannot leave the Portal-look, without a serious core-module hack. After all, I want to change more than just some css-sheets.

Actually I designed my site before thinking of a CMS. Therefore, my design does not fit the standard Mambo / Php-nuke portal style. That's why I'm now looking for a CMS with content modules which can be fully configured, adjusted, changed to fit my design. Will phpWCMS fit my specific needs?

Thanks in advance,

Michael Fresco
spirelli

Post by spirelli »

as far as I can see you can custom write the whole design. Phpwcms has got some table based layout possibilities, but you can also ignore that and drop your custom code into the template(s). Per template you have ONE main content are that can be managed dynamically.

have you had a look here: http://www.phpwcms-docu.de/index.php?english_version

would be intersting to see your site!
mfresco

Post by mfresco »

Spirelli, thanks for your reply! Interesting guide you have provided, I'll take a look at it.

The picture above, comes directly from Photoshop. As you might guess, the design is indeed inspired on Macromedia's homesite. Mainly, it has got two 2 cells for dynamic content. (main & side). The menu will be managed manually, through some javascript.

I'd like to re-create the frontpage look with phpWCMS. It actually consists of this code:

<tr>
<td>thumbnail</td>