Page 1 of 1
tableless design
Posted: Tue 31. Aug 2004, 09:38
by mmjaeger
Hello,
I want to use a css based table-less design in phpwcms. However, I'm having difficulties to even find out where to start with. can this be done at all or is phpwcms primarily based on tables?
can phpwcms be based on any existing layout and can I just put the replacement-tags in an existing layout. how do I go about it.
your input is very much appreciated.
Posted: Tue 31. Aug 2004, 10:20
by pSouper
for a tableless design you could search this forum again for "liquid layout" there one thread that i know of.
you sencond question may be answered by playing with the css, div or custom in the layout area.
Posted: Tue 31. Aug 2004, 10:40
by rookie
Hello
It's possible to use a completely CSS driven layout with phpWCMS.
The best method I have found is this.
1. Create your CSS file (how you would do it for any site) and make that your default CSS in the backend, e.g. frontend.css
2. In the BE go to templates and insert your entire div tags within the Main area (header, footer, left, right etc. can be left empty)
Within those div tags, insert the phpWCMS replacement tags.
3. In page layout in your BE, choose rendering type > custom (from template main block). You can leave all the fields below that blank.
Putting it all together:
1. Your default css file.
2. Your template (only main area has content) e.g. like this:
Code: Select all
<div id="container">
<div id="header"></div>
<div id="navigation"> {NAV_TABLE_COLUMN}</div>
<div id="content">{CONTENT}</div>
<div id="footer"></div>
</div>
3. Define rendering custom from template main block.
That's it.

[/code]
Posted: Tue 31. Aug 2004, 10:43
by pSouper
now at this point i must show my Rookie credentials: why are tables so bad? and div's so good?
Posted: Wed 1. Sep 2004, 14:06
by LANtastic
Tables aren't really bad, but :
-The original Idea of tables has been to use them to show "tabluar data"
-The original has not been to misuse them for placing objects on your site
-Tables need much more code, so you need more bandwith
-It'ts more difficult to "redesign" your page if you have used tables.
Have a look at this page: and tell me if you can do this with tables :
http://www.csszengarden.com
(And I mean all different designs only with the same HTML Structure)
Even if you try to to rebuild the entry page with tables you will need more code and at the end you are less flexible.
The only problems if you do not use tables :
-You have to use CSS and thats the moment you are trapping in many browser bugs (mostly Internet Explorer)
-Many "webdesigner" have no clue what CSS is able to do
In my opinion it's quite ok to use tables, but not in any case. I also sometimes misuse them, but as far as it is possible I only use them for tabular data. As soon as I see another way and get rid of tables I do it.
Posted: Wed 1. Sep 2004, 14:14
by pSouper
thants for this info Lantastic, it is very good to know this.
sorry i can't write a longer responce but the sentiment is all genuine dude
