Page 1 of 2
File uploading/thumbnail problem
Posted: Tue 13. Jul 2004, 14:04
by nichri
Hi,
I installed phpwcms a few days ago and I must admit that the learning cycle for it is quite fast.
I have a problem when trying to upload pictures of file size 800-900k. It gives an error:
Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 8388608 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 6400 bytes) in /var/www/html/phpwcms/include/inc_ext/hft_image/hft_image.php on line 155
The file is though uploaded successfully but I cannot create any thumbnail and ofcourse I cannot include the photo/picture in any article.
Can any body please advise?
thnx
Posted: Tue 13. Jul 2004, 16:22
by Pappnase
hello
please look into the (include/inc_conf/)conf.inc.php
line 48
you will find this.
Code: Select all
// content values
$phpwcms["file_maxsize"] = 52428800; //Bytes (50 x 1024 x 1024)
Posted: Tue 13. Jul 2004, 22:03
by Oliver Georgi
No - the problem is your PHP process has not enough memory. A JPEG file that is 800K will often has around 10MB in memory because it is a compressed image format.
This value can be changed in php.ini only.
Oliver
Posted: Tue 13. Jul 2004, 22:09
by Pappnase
Oliver Georgi wrote:No - the problem is your PHP process has not enough memory. A JPEG file that is 800K will often has around 10MB in memory because it is a compressed image format.
This value can be changed in php.ini only.
Oliver
hello oliver
sometimes it's better to read the error message 2 times!
Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 8388608 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 6400 bytes)
Posted: Wed 14. Jul 2004, 10:39
by nichri
Oliver Georgi wrote:No - the problem is your PHP process has not enough memory. A JPEG file that is 800K will often has around 10MB in memory because it is a compressed image format.
This value can be changed in php.ini only.
Oliver
Oliver I think you 're right
I checked my php.ini and has a limitation as follows:
memory_limit = 8M ; Maximum amount of memory a script may consume (8MB)
Is it wise to increase this figure and if yes how much do you recommend? FYI, I have my site set on my home pc and I then plan to put it on a public server (my pc is on a static internet ip though accessible from outside).
Posted: Wed 14. Jul 2004, 10:53
by nichri
I increased the memory limit from 8M to 12M and worked w/o any errors!
Thnx for yr assistance
Posted: Wed 14. Jul 2004, 12:21
by Oliver Georgi
I recommend around 30MB, min. 16MB.
Oliver
imagemagick thumbnails
Posted: Mon 9. Aug 2004, 20:16
by registeringsucks
I'm having a similar problem where very small images are uploaded and the thumbnails appear, but images that really need a thumbnail, either upload and a broken image appears (red X icon) or it won't generate the thmbnail. I've installed ImageMagic in C:\ImageMagick and if I use convert on a command line, it generates the thumbnail.
I like this feature rich system and I want to use it for images as well as other files types.
I changed the entry in php.ini for maximum upload to 30M.
Any suggestions why some upload and other don't?
Posted: Mon 9. Aug 2004, 20:44
by Oliver Georgi
what ImageMagick release do you use?
ImageMagick problems
Posted: Mon 9. Aug 2004, 21:20
by registeringsucks
I'm using the latest version. 6.0.3-Q16.
Posted: Mon 9. Aug 2004, 22:54
by Oliver Georgi
and what kind of images - you can send me a link via private message. Then I can check that against my local windows install.
oliver
ImageMagick problems
Posted: Mon 9. Aug 2004, 23:27
by registeringsucks
I don't have the images anywhere but on my harddrive. The server that I have ImageMagick and phpwcms on is behind a firewall, on a private network.
I guess there is no way to make attachments here?
Posted: Tue 10. Aug 2004, 00:32
by Oliver Georgi
is "convert -version" anywhere working in command line.
Oliver
ImageMagick problems
Posted: Tue 10. Aug 2004, 00:37
by registeringsucks
As I stated in my first message, I can run convert from the command line, but I always navigate to the directory C:\ImageMagick before I run convert. Are you wondering if that directory is available in the PATH statement? I didn't try that! It still doesn't make sense why some files convert and others do not. I'm still confused!
Posted: Tue 10. Aug 2004, 00:40
by Oliver Georgi
oh - some are and some not
but I can not help you without having a sample image.
Oliver