Page 1 of 1

LINKS in navigation menu using javascript

Posted: Sun 11. Jul 2004, 01:49
by stevenlyons
How do I link to my site structure from a custom menu? The menu is made from images with Javascript rollovers. Each is coded like this:

Code: Select all

<a href="#" onMouseOut="MM_swapImgRestore();" onMouseOver="MM_swapImage('menu_r2_c1','','/cms/picture/menu_r2_c1_f2.gif',1);"><img name="menu_r2_c1" src="/cms/picture/menu_r2_c1.gif" width="150" height="21" border="0" alt=""></a>
How do I reference the link to the site structure levels?

Thanks.

Posted: Sun 11. Jul 2004, 02:10
by stevenlyons
OK I can now answer my own question after being forced to look at another wcms site's code. :oops:

For those of you interested in doing this, all you have to do is use the following link structure:

Code: Select all

<a href="index.php?yourStructureAliasHere..."

Posted: Sun 11. Jul 2004, 02:12
by Pappnase
hello

use this one
[ID string]string[/ID]
This creates a HTML link to a structure level with ALIAS (string). Second string represents the text that is linked.
you will find the most if the replacement tags in my signature!

Posted: Sun 11. Jul 2004, 02:28
by stevenlyons
Thanks again.

But will ID work when embedded in and around javascript?

Posted: Sun 11. Jul 2004, 11:03
by Pappnase
hello

no with the ID tag you create your won menue! delte from the template the {NAV_TABLE_COlUMN} TAG and place there the ID TAG.

Posted: Sun 11. Jul 2004, 17:40
by Oliver Georgi
If you want to get to know link to an article - move mouse over this article in article list - right-click and copy link. Only use the index.php?id=... part

Oliver

Posted: Mon 12. Jul 2004, 18:05
by stevenlyons
Thanks everyone. phpwcms is great, but the menu system is very limited. I have decided to forget the left column and the Nav_Column. Its just too hard to customize. I will be hard-coding the links using Oliver's method. If you look at the attached desgin you will see why:

Image

Posted: Mon 12. Jul 2004, 18:27
by Oliver Georgi
Yes -I know. That's a problem.

But I really don't know a cms menu script that is able to handle this.

It's easier and faster to do it the old HTML way.

Oliver

Posted: Mon 12. Jul 2004, 19:14
by stevenlyons
I agree. You can't expect a CMS to do everything. That's what designers are for!

(However, I do think the nav_table_column menu would be much more powerful if it was all CSS based and had all its controls located in one style sheet.)