Page 1 of 1

Installation with non-standard MySQL port

Posted: Thu 17. May 2007, 13:11
by Balubaer
Hi out there,

I've a little tricky problem. I want to install phpwcms on a server where are different MySQL versions installed on it. Because of that the different versions are accessible through different ports.

So I've tried to give the setup the location of the MySQL server like localhost:43306 (for a MySQL 4 version) or localhost:53306 (for a MySQL 5 version).

Unfortunately phpwcms isn't able to use a different database connection port, is it? I haven't found anything related to that in the conf.inc.php.

Does anyone know how to setup phpwcms for this case?

Thanks in advance,
Dennis

Posted: Thu 17. May 2007, 13:20
by juergen
hi,

doono whats the theme with the ports, but if I had to do so I would use differnet IPs on same Server and bind each to a IP... no subnet available ?

Juergen

//Edit: Or simply use the one from 'localhost' Standard

Posted: Thu 17. May 2007, 13:40
by Balubaer
Hello Juergen,

seems to be a good hint but why to make it so complex?

I know that 3306 is the stanard port of MySQL and it works. But I will use a different MySQL version (for testing purpose) and why to 'create' a new IP if I only want to use a different connection port?

On my testing system at home it will be no big problem to bind each MySQL version on a different IP but it's not possible on the office system. :(

Dennis

Posted: Thu 17. May 2007, 17:38
by Oliver Georgi
put different port behind host

Code: Select all

$phpwcms["db_host"] = "localhost:1234"; //default = 3306
Oliver

Posted: Mon 21. May 2007, 12:48
by Balubaer
Hi Oliver,

is it also possible with the Version 1.2.8 of phpwcms?

If I edit the conf.inc.php to

Code: Select all

$phpwcms['db_host']           = 'localhost:43306';
The connections seems only happen through the MySQL5 server. If I turn the MySQL5 server off, a "no db" error occurs. :( The status of the MySQL4 server doesn't really matter to the cms.

Or do I miss some settings?

Greetz,
Dennis

Posted: Mon 21. May 2007, 13:45
by Oliver Georgi
I don't know what you want to tell me...

Oliver

Posted: Fri 1. Jun 2007, 19:37
by Balubaer
Hi,

sorry for late response. I solved the problem on a little different way.

It seems, that the php command mysql_connect expects to connect through the standard socket (/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock) on my server, no matter which port I set.

So, I did my workaround by setting the server connection settings to:

Code: Select all

$phpwcms['db_host'] = 'localhost:/path/to/mysql.sock'
This works fine (although it may not be a very elegant way to solve it).

Thanks so far,
Dennis

Posted: Fri 1. Jun 2007, 23:27
by Jensensen
don't know what u r "frickeling" all time but:

Code: Select all

$phpwcms["db_host"] = "localhost:8888"; OR ANY OTHER
works anyway

greetz