Page 1 of 1

Root Path: Shared Hosting (Hosteurope)

Posted: Mon 22. Mar 2004, 00:57
by dpi72
I have some trouble getting the right root path for my installation on a multi-domain hosting webspace (provider: hosteurope). I've installed WCMS in the folder "phpwcms" on a domain "seconddomain" which is an alias-domain pointing to a subfolder on my first domain "firstdomain", e.g. "/domains/seconddomain".

So the problem is: $_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"] on my seconddomain gives back "/blabla/.../firstdomain" without "/domains/seconddomain".

So at the moment I can login via "http://www.seconddomain.de/phpwcms" using "phpwcms" for $phpwcms["root"] in my conf.inc.php, but get path errors when trying to edit my articles for example.

On the other hand, the path errors when editing disappear when I upload an updated conf.inc.php with "domains/seconddomain/phpwcms" as $phpwcms["root"], but with this configuration I cannot login anymore.

The problem obviously lies in handling the paths to my seconddomain - can anyone help me??

I use "http://www.seconddomain.de/" as $phpwcms["site"] - that's not the problem.

Installed version: RC2_2004-02-20

Posted: Mon 22. Mar 2004, 10:14
by Jan212
Point your 2nd Domain to the folder of it via confixx. (2nd domain folder) and set up the paths like
"phpwcms" for $phpwcms["root"]
"http://www.seconddomain.de/" as $phpwcms["site"]

Posted: Mon 22. Mar 2004, 11:08
by dpi72
Point your 2nd Domain to the folder of it via confixx.
Does that mean I have to ask my provider? All I have is a standard web pack ...

Posted: Mon 22. Mar 2004, 11:24
by Jan212
No, at hosteurope confixx is the basic admin software...

Posted: Mon 22. Mar 2004, 17:20
by dpi72
I've already pointed my second domain to the subfolder via the "KIS" configuration interface - where can I find Confixx?

Posted: Mon 22. Mar 2004, 21:55
by Jan212
KIS is ok - forget CONFIXX.

Now place the phpwcms folder in the folder you pointed the domain to.

Set up

Code: Select all

// site values
$phpwcms["site"]              = "http://www.URL_of_the_2nd_Domain.de/";
...

$phpwcms["root"]              = "phpwcms";
Now everything should work.

Posted: Tue 23. Mar 2004, 13:30
by dpi72
No, that's the way I had it before when it didn't work. I solved the problem by adding

Code: Select all

$_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] = '/is/htdocs/12345/www.firstdomain.de/domains/seconddomain';
to my conf.inc.php. ("12345" has to be replaced with Hosteurope customer ID).

Hope this will help other Hosteuropers.

Posted: Tue 23. Mar 2004, 14:37
by Jan212
ok. i think i didn't work because of
So the problem is: $_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"] on my seconddomain gives back "/blabla/.../firstdomain" without "/domains/seconddomain".
:wink:

hauptsache funzt...