Rewrite is driving me nuts

Get help with installation and running phpwcms here. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.
Pappnase

Post by Pappnase »

hello

did yiu have nothing enabled like mod_rewrite!?
it needs to be listet in Configure Command in your info.php.
if you don't find it you need to enable it!
ndtoan13
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed 16. Mar 2005, 05:11
Contact:

Post by ndtoan13 »

Hello,

I have a search in php.ini:

Code: Select all

url_rewriter.tags = "a=href,area=href,frame=src,input=src,form=,fieldset="
And httpd.conf (I just remove ';' and restart apache):

Code: Select all

LoadModule rewrite_module modules/mod_rewrite.so
But nothing change?

Onething I wonder is: why it change

Code: Select all

...id?c15 into _c15.shtml
not

Code: Select all

...id?c15 into c15.shtml
Pappnase

Post by Pappnase »

hello

normally the file should be renamend! into the the structurelevel alias name! so if you change something in the htaccess replace your edit htaccess with the original version.
ndtoan13
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed 16. Mar 2005, 05:11
Contact:

Post by ndtoan13 »

I still get the error 404, I use WinXp SP1 (apache 2.052, php 4.310) do you think that make the trouble?
ndtoan13
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed 16. Mar 2005, 05:11
Contact:

Post by ndtoan13 »

Hi,

I found that to run rewrite mod, I must have phtml file. E.g I want to change:

Code: Select all

 ...index.php?contact
to

Code: Select all

...contact.phtml
I must have a file contact.phtml!! :D

But my problem is where to put this file??
Do anyone know?
miershpedankl
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed 8. Mar 2006, 13:19
Location: East Coast, USA
Contact:

Can't figure this out :(

Post by miershpedankl »

Aí, caramba! I can't get this thing to work. Luckily I can get my site back up and running, but I have tried everything (I think) and I cannot re-write my url. My host admin says that "mod_rewrite" is installed on my server, but I either lose pictures and the font changes on the site, or I get the typical #500 error. I have changed the _.htaccess file, modified it's contents as recommended, and changed the line in conf.inc.php to reflect "1." Can anyone either offer me advice or ask me a question that might lead me down a road of understanding?

Thanks,
nate
the-lee-family.us
If you don't let ANYTHING happen to someone, then NOTHING will happen to them.
User avatar
juergen
Moderator
Posts: 4556
Joined: Mon 10. Jan 2005, 18:10
Location: Weinheim
Contact:

Post by juergen »

hi miershpedankl

Error 500 comes with start page or on links ? Loosing pictures ? Never heard!
your rewrite goes to xxx.phtml ?

Bring it to the error 500 :lol: and wait a couple of minutes, until apache is updating .... Within good server config this should happen within every 2 minutes ..... if the error rests some config has to be made in the apache domain entries.

greetz Juergen

Edit: It's worth spending some time on it :wink:
miershpedankl
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed 8. Mar 2006, 13:19
Location: East Coast, USA
Contact:

Continued...

Post by miershpedankl »

Thanks for the reply DF6IH! I am getting the error at my home url: the-lee-family.us. My rewrite goes to .phtml and I have tried the .shtml as well. It didn't fix anything, unfortunately.

To clarify, sometimes my start page will show, but there will be no pictures. Right now it is NOT showing and goes straight to the 500 page, but if I go to my phpwcms login, the page will show, but with no pictures at the top. Weird!!

I have tried switching the commands in my .htaccess file as well, but still nothing. I may need to explain this to my host to see if they can fix it, eh?

Even after waiting a few minutes my page is not showing. I'll wait some more...
If you don't let ANYTHING happen to someone, then NOTHING will happen to them.
User avatar
juergen
Moderator
Posts: 4556
Joined: Mon 10. Jan 2005, 18:10
Location: Weinheim
Contact:

Post by juergen »

hello nate,

solution for apache >2 (others not testet)

http://faq.phpwcms-docu.de/5_12_de.html

this has to be inserted in the configs of the webserver for domain entry.

This might be done by provider only... (httpd - entry)

If so.... leave all directives in .htaccess with the leading # marked, as not to be accessed. The first directive then is rewrite engine statement.

Make shure how often your server is reloaded, some apache will not do no reloads, if nothing is changed by server admin.

You see .. its very simple to find new hobbies :D

juergen
miershpedankl
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed 8. Mar 2006, 13:19
Location: East Coast, USA
Contact:

Url_rewrite continues...

Post by miershpedankl »

Well I don't know if I needed another hobby, but this can count as one b/c it sure takes a lot of my time! :lol:

Anyway, I have fwd that info to my host to see what they can do about modifying my configs. We'll see what they say. Can you tell me if these setting are correct in my _.htaccess file?

<HTML><HEAD>
<META http-equiv=Content-Type content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
<META content="MSHTML 6.00.2900.2802" name=GENERATOR></HEAD>
<BODY><PRE># These settings are recommend
# Maybe you might have problems
# with other scripts that needs
# register_globals ON
# php_flag magic_quotes_gpc Off
# php_flag register_globals Off


# Rewrite functionality for phpwcms
# optimized by Jan212
# 18-04-2004

# Check that you have set Options FollowSymLinks
# and right Allow
RewriteEngine On

# maybe you need this
#DirectoryIndex index.html index.php


# Default ReWrite settings for phpwcms
# ===============================================
# This will rewrite 0.0.0.0.0.0.phtml => index.php?id=0.0.0.0.0.0
RewriteRule ^([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.phtml$ index.php?id=$1,$2,$3,$4,$5,$6

# This will rewrite mypage.phtml => index.php?mypage
RewriteRule ^(.+)\.phtml$ index.php?$1


# If phpwcms is installed in a subdirectory,
# sample: "mysubdir" then use this (remove #)
# if above lines doesn't work for you
# ===============================================
#RewriteBase /mysubdir
#RewriteRule ^([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.phtml$ /mysubdir/index.php?id=$1,$2,$3,$4,$5,$6
#RewriteRule ^(.+)\.phtml$ /mysubdir/index.php?$1


# If you want to set rewrite logging
# ===============================================
#RewriteLog "/absolute/path/to/the/rewrite.log"
# 0 = Logging disabled, 9 = highest level of logging, only for debugging
#RewriteLogLevel 3</PRE></BODY></HTML>[/list]


Thanks again, Nate
If you don't let ANYTHING happen to someone, then NOTHING will happen to them.
User avatar
DeXXus
Posts: 2168
Joined: Fri 28. Nov 2003, 06:20
Location: USA - Florida

Re: Url_rewrite continues...

Post by DeXXus »

miershpedankl wrote: # Check that you have set Options FollowSymLinks

Code: Select all

# Check that you have set Options FollowSymLinks 
# and right Allow 
Options +FollowSymlinks 
RewriteEngine On
Also, if your installation is not in the web root... uncomment the appropriate section and adjust the subdirectory name:
# If phpwcms is installed in a subdirectory,
# sample: "mysubdir" then use this (remove #)
# if above lines doesn't work for you
# ===============================================
#RewriteBase /mysubdir
#RewriteRule ^([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.phtml$ /phpwcms/index.php?id=$1.$2.$3.$4.$5.$6
#RewriteRule ^(.+)\.phtml$ /mysubdir/index.php?$1
Example:

Code: Select all

RewriteBase /phpwcms
RewriteRule ^([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.([0-9]+)\.phtml$ /phpwcms/index.php?id=$1.$2.$3.$4.$5.$6
RewriteRule ^(.+)\.phtml$ /phpwcms/index.php?$1 
nettrix
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu 22. Feb 2007, 12:50

url_rewrite Probs too!

Post by nettrix »

Hi Folks,

I've got the same issues with url_rewrite! And well, I tried mostly anything you can :cry: .....

Concerning .htaccess file. My Host already activated this one with the following code:

Code: Select all

# -FrontPage-

IndexIgnore .htaccess */.??* *~ *# */HEADER* */README* */_vti*

<Limit GET POST>
order deny,allow
deny from all
allow from all
</Limit>
<Limit PUT DELETE>
order deny,allow
deny from all
</Limit>
AuthName www.mysite.at:80
AuthUserFile /home/web1234/www/home/_vti_pvt/service.pwd
AuthGroupFile /home/web1234/www/home/_vti_pvt/service.grp
Can anybody help me????
Cheers!
Post Reply