Whole website springs - depending if long article or short

Get help with installation and running phpwcms here. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.
Rupert
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun 27. Nov 2005, 00:59
Location: Frankfurt

Whole website springs - depending if long article or short

Post by Rupert »

Hello All,

I have another question. The solution is not so important, but I'm wondering, whats happening and why, because this strange thing occurs on all my webpages made with phpWCMS.

If you see this page:
http://www.loesungen-erschliessen.de/index.php?news

and switch then to this page:
http://www.loesungen-erschliessen.de/in ... hwerpunkte

you see, that the whole webpage springs from right to left for about 15px.
The reason is, that the first page is very short and the second longer.... When I switch between pages, which are long too, this spring (or move) doesn't occurs. Only from long to short or back.
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Post by flip-flop »

Hi Rupert,
that isn´t a phpWCMS-problem it is browser typically. Using an IE you don´t see this "springs". There you have a permanent slider at the right.
For FF insert at your frontend.css

Code: Select all

body {
	.
	.
	.
	height: 101%
}
This will produced a permanent slider at the right in FF.

regards Knut
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
Rupert
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun 27. Nov 2005, 00:59
Location: Frankfurt

Thank you!

Post by Rupert »

Thank you very, very much for the fast answer! :D


.... and yes, it works!



wow, what for a problem. And I thought, that is a problem of my code :roll:
User avatar
Klappstuhl28
Posts: 833
Joined: Fri 4. Mar 2005, 01:58
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Post by Klappstuhl28 »

This is another topic of what is called "browserkrieg".
In IE as knut worte the scrollbar is permanently shown. In FF it
is generated "on demand" - when the page/content
is bigger then the viewable area. The width of the
scrollbar is deducted from the whole width and so
it jumps.

The solution with css doesn´t look that good
but it´s the only one to "enchain" the FF.

Oh Lord, would you buy me...
something like a mercedes-benz-browser.

-nerved-
Lars

Don't say you don't have enough time. You have exactly the same number of hours per day that were given to Helen Keller, Pasteur, Michaelangelo, Mother Teresa, Leonardo da Vinci, Thomas Jefferson, and Albert Einstein. - H. Jackson Brown -
Rupert
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun 27. Nov 2005, 00:59
Location: Frankfurt

Post by Rupert »

hmm. Strange, the solution with CSS worked.
BUT, in Version 2.8 it doesn't work anymore?
Could it be, that because 2.8 generates XHTML, this workaround doesn't work anymore?
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Post by flip-flop »

XHTML:
min-height: 100.1%;

Knut
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
User avatar
pico
Posts: 2595
Joined: Wed 28. Jul 2004, 18:04
Location: Frankfurt/M Germany
Contact:

Post by pico »

Hi

min-height: 100.01%;

works better - it didn't jump a little up and down when using a Wheel-Mouse
Lieber Gott gib mir Geduld - ABER BEEIL DICH
Horst - find me at Musiker-Board
Rupert
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun 27. Nov 2005, 00:59
Location: Frankfurt

Post by Rupert »

Hello,

thank you for the FAST answers!

I put this in the frontend.css:
body {
font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;
font-size: 14px;
min-height: 100.01%
}

... but it doesn't work? Whats wrong?
User avatar
pico
Posts: 2595
Joined: Wed 28. Jul 2004, 18:04
Location: Frankfurt/M Germany
Contact:

Post by pico »

Hi

if your Layout is Table-Based set the Mark 'disable at 'margin' Row and
set Margins etc in the body-Class like:

Code: Select all

  body {
    min-height: 100.01%;	
    color: #282F42;
    background-color: #C1D2E2;
    margin:0;
    padding:0;
  }
and check that you haven't two body-Classes in your frontend.css or somewhere else
Lieber Gott gib mir Geduld - ABER BEEIL DICH
Horst - find me at Musiker-Board
Rupert
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun 27. Nov 2005, 00:59
Location: Frankfurt

Post by Rupert »

I changed it now in my frontend.css to this:

Code: Select all

body {
    min-height: 100.01%;   	
    font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;
    font-size: 14px;
    color: #282F42;
    background-color: #C1D2E2;
    background: url(http://www.loesungen-erschliessen.de/picture/logo/background.jpg) repeat;
    margin:10px;0px;10px;0px;
    padding:0; 
}
Two Questions:
- still the min-height doesn't work
- how it is possible, that the background Image is only repeated from left to right and below comes a color (because its looking very strange, if its repeated). Just have a look: http://www.loesungen-erschliessen.de/
User avatar
pico
Posts: 2595
Joined: Wed 28. Jul 2004, 18:04
Location: Frankfurt/M Germany
Contact:

Post by pico »

background-repeat: repeat-x;
Lieber Gott gib mir Geduld - ABER BEEIL DICH
Horst - find me at Musiker-Board
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Post by flip-flop »

Schau mal hier:

Code: Select all

www .mz.ja-nek .de/test6_css.phtml
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
User avatar
pico
Posts: 2595
Joined: Wed 28. Jul 2004, 18:04
Location: Frankfurt/M Germany
Contact:

Post by pico »

Hi

once again - is still in
if your Layout is Table-Based set the Mark 'disable at 'margin' Row

and make your Site a little smaler - not everybody has a 1280*1024 Screen ;)
Lieber Gott gib mir Geduld - ABER BEEIL DICH
Horst - find me at Musiker-Board
Rupert
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun 27. Nov 2005, 00:59
Location: Frankfurt

Post by Rupert »

to flip-flop:
wow, thank you, this site is helpful!


to pico

I disabled "margin" Row. (Please have a look in the picture).
Furthermore, I looked if there is somewhere a second body tag... neither.
And, the CSS worked till Version 2.6 (only in Version 2.8 the height or min-heigt command doesn't work)

Image

My site has the width 1024 (after analyzing the weblog, I saw, that 92% have a solution 1024*768 or bigger!).
User avatar
pico
Posts: 2595
Joined: Wed 28. Jul 2004, 18:04
Location: Frankfurt/M Germany
Contact:

Post by pico »

clear all fields Farbe, Text, Link, besucht and aktiv

in HTML-Code this must be away

Code: Select all

  <style type="text/css" media="all">
  /* <![CDATA[ */
    body {
      background-color: #FFFFFF;
      color: #000000;
    }
    a, a:link, a:active, a:visited, a:hover { color: #FF9900; }
    a:visited { color: #FF9900; }
    a:active { color: #377a4b; }
  /* ]]> */
  </style>

on 1024 I have to scrol horizontal - remember that the Browser will not show the full-Size (Border Scrolbar etc. ) so a good with is 980px
Lieber Gott gib mir Geduld - ABER BEEIL DICH
Horst - find me at Musiker-Board
Post Reply