FAQ: I can not login! What could it be?

Get help with installation and running phpwcms here. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9888
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

FAQ: I can not login! What could it be?

Post by Oliver Georgi »

Here are some things you should check in same order:
  1. Did you mark the "create admin account"?
    Image
  2. Username/password are case sensitive - be sure that you use correct notation.
  3. I have forgotten my username and/or password. How can I set a new one or change it without login?
    Open your phpMyAdmin (or preferred MySQL admin utility) and open the table "phpwcms_user" (remember: maybe you have prefix set). Select the user entry you want to change/edit (click on table, click browse...) and set new values (here described for default login/password: webmaster/admin):
    Image
    Same values can be used if you want to create a new user too.
  4. Seems that I can login (I see the user logged in) but I'm not redirected to the right page.
    1. Check site URL and phpwcms root. Site URL should always be like this 'http://www.phpwcms.de/'. Never add the subdir to the site URL you have installed phpwcms in. Sample:

      Code: Select all

      $phpwcms['site'] = 'http://www.phpwcms.de/';
      $phpwcms['root'] = 'phpwcms';
      If not installed in subdir

      Code: Select all

      $phpwcms['site'] = 'http://www.phpwcms.de/';
      $phpwcms['root'] = '';
    2. On Internet Information Server the neccessary var $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] is often NOT available/set. Some virtual hosting accounts uses a global DOCUMENT_ROOT - so the var is not set right for you account (often seen on local MacOS X). You have to add the var manually to your conf.inc.php. To get the real path to your web root open document_root.php. This may help you to find the right DOCUMENT_ROOT var. If you have installed phpwcms in a subdir the path might have this subdir ended - move document_root.php on top of your web directory so that you can access it by running 'http://www.phpwcms.de/document_root.php'. Add var within conf.inc.php:

      Code: Select all

      $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] = '/home/user';
      On Windows systems do not use the backslash in any path:

      Code: Select all

      $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'] = 'C:/www/user';
  5. Is your PHP install set well for handling sessions. Check that your browser accepts cookies. Sometimes it might help to to set in php.ini

    Code: Select all

    session.use_trans_sid = 1
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
SieglAlex
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue 6. Sep 2005, 19:46
Contact:

Post by SieglAlex »

Hy dixid,

thanks a lot, in conf.inc.php I have type in the subdir by $phpwcms["site"]

Thanks for your help

alex
daktron
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed 5. Oct 2005, 02:44

password/login not working

Post by daktron »

hi oliver -

i have been running the same phpwcms installation for over a year, however today when i tried to login with my usual username and password i was unable to and got this msg:
Errors during login!
i followed the instructions #3 and opened the tables using phpMyAdmin, however the fields in my table that you have highlighted in red are blank. i put in my pw (usr_pass) and user (usr_login) but still got the error msg.

any suggestions would be helpful. also do you know why after a year this would happen?

thanx!

monty
http://montymessex.com


thanx!!
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9888
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

Hm, check again please. Soometimes yoou have to login twice.

Oliver
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
daktron
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed 5. Oct 2005, 02:44

Post by daktron »

hi oliver,

yes i know about that problem, however no matter how many times i log in i get this error. the strange thing is that i have three sites on the same server that run phpwcms and all of them are having this same problem.

i contacted the server to see if they have made any changes and the only change they have made is an upgraded to mysql 4.1. are there any known compatibility issues with mysql 4.1?

thanx!

monty
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9888
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

which release do you use - there are general changes in MySQL 4.1 that might be problematic.

Timestamp.

Oliver
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
daktron
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed 5. Oct 2005, 02:44

Post by daktron »

ill check. thanx for the quick response!
daktron
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed 5. Oct 2005, 02:44

Post by daktron »

They are using MySQL 4.1.13 Standard. Do you think this could be the cause of the login problem???? If so how should i fix it?
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9888
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

I need to know what release of phpwcms you use.

Newer release does not have problems with 4.1x

Oliver
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
daktron
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed 5. Oct 2005, 02:44

Post by daktron »

hi oliver,

here are the sites with the phpwcms versions they run. everything has been running fine, but now i am unable to login to all sites:

http://www.montymessex.com 1.1-RC2
http://www.kimjones.org 1.1-RC4-1
http://www.petproject-la.com 1.1-RC4 Rev. A

thanx!

monty
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9888
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

as I told - these are older releases and not fully functional with MySQL 4.1 (changed timestamp functionality). Download the include/inc_lib/checklogin.inc.php files from the latest 1.1-RC4 release. You can also try the login.php from these. Always make backup of replaced files.

Oliver
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
toppertan
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue 29. Nov 2005, 07:01
Location: Michigan, US
Contact:

Post by toppertan »

I was also having the same problem logging in to several sites I am using. My host is also showing MySQL version 4.1.13 . To be honest I don't know if the version changed. The problem seemed to be in the encryption of my password. I am using your standard corporate mix of alpha and numeric password for all sites. On one site I did have another user and the password was strictly alpha. I was able to get into that site with the other user and reset my password and then copy that encrypted password from this site over to the other sites through the user table in PHPMyAdmin for each of the other sites where I was using the same password and did not have another user.

It was fortunately a fairly quick fix for me since I had another user with an alpha only password and I was using the same password on each of my sites. I don't know if the encryption is standard for the product, but maybe you can setup a new temporary site with the same version and then setup another user with your old password and copy it over as I did. Just a thought.
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9888
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

Maybe a solution too because the used Mysql "PASSWORD()" function for older phpwcms releases does not give same results for DB > 4. New releases are using "MD5()".

Oliver
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
daktron
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed 5. Oct 2005, 02:44

Post by daktron »

hi oliver -

i was wondering if you would do a update to the latest version (paid of course) for me?

thanx

monty
Post Reply