NAV_LIST_TOP Showing as a bulleted list not as a menu

Get help with installation and running phpwcms here. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.
Post Reply
mstroz
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed 13. Apr 2005, 18:38
Location: Macon, Georgia USA
Contact:

NAV_LIST_TOP Showing as a bulleted list not as a menu

Post by mstroz »

Hello,

I'm developing a site and want to use the NAV_LIST_TOP replacement tag for the primary navigation, but when I plug the reptag into the template main area all I get is the site's pages in bulleted list form.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.
Regards,
Mark
Ben
Posts: 558
Joined: Wed 14. Jan 2004, 08:05
Location: Atlanta
Contact:

Post by Ben »

This is fixed in frontend.css. Get to it from the backend of the cms: ADMIN > default css. Make sure your #list_top_ul li looks something like this:

Code: Select all

#list_top_ul li {
	list-style: none;
	margin: 0;
	display: inline;
Try something like this for a very simple nav:

Code: Select all

/* CSS for the top level list */
#list_top ul {
	padding: 3px 0;
	margin: 0;
	font-size: 11px;
}
#list_top_ul li {
	list-style: none;
	margin: 0;
	display: inline;
}
#list_top_ul li a {
	padding: 3px 0.5em;
	margin-left: 12px;
	text-decoration: none;
}
#list_top_ul li a:link { color: #000000; }
#list_top_ul li a:visited { color: #000000; }
#list_top_ul li a:hover {
	color: Black;
}
#list_top_ul li a#list_top_active_link, #list_top li a#list_top_home_active_link {
	font-weight: bold;
	color: #000000;
}
mstroz
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed 13. Apr 2005, 18:38
Location: Macon, Georgia USA
Contact:

Post by mstroz »

Thanks for the reply Ben.

I tried you suggestion, but it's still not working. It's as if the reptag doesn't recognize the CSS instructions.

If you'd like to take a look, you can see the site here:
http://locksmithassociatesonline.com/cm ... .php?index

Thanks again for your help.
Ben
Posts: 558
Joined: Wed 14. Jan 2004, 08:05
Location: Atlanta
Contact:

Post by Ben »

mstroz, will you please post the section of the css starting with /* CSS for the top level list */
and ending with /* CSS for the currect level list */. On a side note, I would definately use version 1.2.3 DEV over 1.1 if I were you.
mstroz
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed 13. Apr 2005, 18:38
Location: Macon, Georgia USA
Contact:

Post by mstroz »

Sure thing:

Code: Select all

/* CSS for the top level list */
#list_top ul {
   padding: 3px 0;
   margin: 0;
   font-size: 11px;
}
#list_top_ul li {
   list-style: none;
   margin: 0;
   display: inline;
}
#list_top_ul li a {
   padding: 3px 0.5em;
   margin-left: 12px;
   text-decoration: none;
}
#list_top_ul li a:link { color: #000000; }
#list_top_ul li a:visited { color: #000000; }
#list_top_ul li a:hover {
   color: Black;
}
#list_top_ul li a#list_top_active_link, #list_top li a#list_top_home_active_link {
   font-weight: bold;
   color: #000000;
}

Regarding 1.2.3, is it ok to upgrade or would you suggest a clean install?
Thanks
Mark
Ben
Posts: 558
Joined: Wed 14. Jan 2004, 08:05
Location: Atlanta
Contact:

Post by Ben »

Well ... your css looks good - I thought that maybe the list-style: none; and display: inline; lines may have gotten commented out. I'm not sure what the deal is ...

I would upgrade if you have much content and template work done on a particular install. The upgrade procedure seems to be very good, with only a few minor issues if you have file list content parts.
mstroz
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed 13. Apr 2005, 18:38
Location: Macon, Georgia USA
Contact:

Post by mstroz »

I'll go with the upgrade.

Thanks for giving it a shot.
Post Reply