NAV_LIST_TOP creates empty row i cannot delete ????

Get help with installation and running phpwcms here. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.
Post Reply
Yoenuts
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon 9. Feb 2004, 19:29
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

NAV_LIST_TOP creates empty row i cannot delete ????

Post by Yoenuts »

I used the NAV_LIST_TOP tag in the site http://www.livethelife.nl
It creates an empty row below the tabs i cannot delte and it doesn't show up in the source code as well. I left the empty row white. If i set the backgroundcolor of the entire td it colors the space above and below the tabs.

Is there a way to delete this empty row?
I need the tabs and the colored conctent space to attach to each other

\PLease Help :cry:

this is my main where it all happens the <P class="main"> creates the txt with background color I have tried removing the <p> and doesn't work.

<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="750" border="0">

<tr>
<td>{NAV_LIST_TOP:Home:list_top}</td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td>
<p class="main">
<table width="748" cellpadding="5" cellspacing="0">
<tr><td>

{CONTENT}
</td></tr>
</table>
</p>

</td>
</tr>
</table>

I corrected the </td> mistake (dumb of course) and it still gives an empty line
Last edited by Yoenuts on Tue 22. Jun 2004, 00:37, edited 2 times in total.
TheDarkman
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon 21. Jun 2004, 14:05

Post by TheDarkman »

try this...

Code: Select all

<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="750" border="0"> 

<tr> 
<td>
{NAV_LIST_TOP:Home:list_top}
</td> 
</tr> 
<tr> 
<td> 
<p class="main">
{CONTENT}
</p>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
Last edited by TheDarkman on Mon 21. Jun 2004, 22:16, edited 1 time in total.
Pappnase

Post by Pappnase »

hello

i test it! same old result! :cry:
only answer cos Yoenuts and i try to fix this also via msn! :wink:
User avatar
DeXXus
Posts: 2168
Joined: Fri 28. Nov 2003, 06:20
Location: USA - Florida

Post by DeXXus »

first of all, ~one~ of those <TD> should be </TD>
Yoenuts
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon 9. Feb 2004, 19:29
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Yoenuts »

Thx corrected the </td> still empty line afster navigation
User avatar
DeXXus
Posts: 2168
Joined: Fri 28. Nov 2003, 06:20
Location: USA - Florida

Post by DeXXus »

Yoenuts wrote:Thx corrected the </td> still empty line after navigation
Start basic with just the tag(s) without all your added table structures and styling. Does it still occur? If so, the TAG that makes that structure has code that is used to form that element and might be the source of the spacing. If not, add a little bit of it back... and so on. Let us know :wink:
PaRa
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed 16. Jun 2004, 15:30

Post by PaRa »

Try to use <span class="main">{content}</span> instead of the paragraph (<p>) tag

and maybe put your cellpadding to "0" in the nested table
GreenNuggs
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri 9. Apr 2004, 01:14
Location: Boston, MA. USA

Post by GreenNuggs »

Why not put the nav list in the header block instead of the main block? From an organizational point of view, that is a much better design.
Yoenuts
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon 9. Feb 2004, 19:29
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Yoenuts »

Have some school reports that need to be finished. I will start trying all this during the weekend the url http://www.livethelife.nl will show you the problem. The white space is created by the tag
I have tried several things... All adaptions to the {CONTENT} tag haven't worked. The tablerow the nav is in is higher then the single line the tabs should use. I noticed this by checking via border="1"

feel free to contact me on msn (maybe working for studies).
By the way thanks papnase for all the help you gave me so far.
Yoenuts
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon 9. Feb 2004, 19:29
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Yoenuts »

I found the answer! The <UL> tag makes a line after it finishes. After the </u> tag the line is created. This happens automaticilly . I solved the problem by adding a background. It might be a suggestion to build the nav with td's and tr's? then the empty row can be deleted. Thanks for all ur suggestions and help!!!

greetz

Yoenuts

http://www.livethelife.nl
jimtomas
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon 29. Mar 2004, 01:33

Post by jimtomas »

Can you provide a snippet of code on how you solved this? I can't get {NAV_LIST_TOP} to perform without a space below.

Thanks
-Jim
colech
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu 25. Mar 2004, 01:01
Location: Washington, USA
Contact:

Post by colech »

To change the background on NAV_LIST_TOP, I added the following two lines...

Code: Select all

	background-image: url(../../custom_templates/images/menu.gif);
	background-repeat: repeat-x;
to phpwcms_templage/inc_css/frontend.css around line 145...

Code: Select all

#list_top_ul {
	background-image: url(../../custom_templates/images/menu.gif);
	background-repeat: repeat-x;
	padding: 3px 0;
	margin-left: 0;
	border-bottom: 1px solid #5E747F;
	font: bold 12px Verdana, sans-serif;
}
while !sleeping {
work_on(phpwcms);
}
// Check out our web development company!
// "Your business has character... don't hide it!"
Post Reply