hello
i've encountered difficulties with the file manager.
it seems to me, that there is some chaos with the paths used for this.
i have the following setup:
apache with mod-rewrite rules, that mimicks subdomains.
/home/domain/public is the webroot, here are no files
/home/domain/public/www is the subdomain http://www.domain.com
/home/domain/public/sub would be sub.domain.com
when someone tries to open domain.com there get redirected to http://www.domain.com
ok now to the problems:
first the setup script:
it showed me as path "/home/domain/public" so i added
$phpwcms["root"] = "www";
because my phpwcms is in this directory.
i was not able to login with this setup, so i changed it back to
$phpwcms["root"] = "";
so ok login was possible and i tried to upload some files.
"Error while creating user directory. Please do not try again - this is an server error! Contact the webmaster to tell as soon as possible!"
ok i searched and find out that i need to set the config vars so:
$phpwcms["file_path"] = "www/phpwcms_filestorage";
ok now fileuploads seems to run nicely, also check out to insert some image in an article.
the image browser showed me nothing, absolutely nothing.
also i checked again and saw, that i had no thumb or preview, also changed the config once again:
$phpwcms["file_tmp"] = "www/phpwcms_tmp";
and created the dirs "thumb_list" & "thumb_preview" in there.
(update) i created this dirs in this place, because the setup script was only happy with this setup
now after image upload the file manager tried to show me a picture, and in the above created dirs, i found a thumb and a preview.
so i wondered why the file manager or the image_browser can't display it.
after checking the paths in the <img src= in the file manager preview, i saw that he is trying to get the picture with this URL:
http://www.domain.com/www/phpwcms_tmp/t ... lename.ext
when you compare this URL with my setup described @ begining of this post, you see that it should look like so:
http://www.domain.com/phpwcms_tmp/thumb ... lename.ext
it seems to me like i need 2 different config vars for this /thumb_list/ path.
a real filesystem path & a virtual HTTP path.
what does the author of this nice phpwcms means to this problem ?
ps: i don't want to fix it myself in the code, i would like to see it fixed in the app. if needed i could help a little bit with coding.
>> problems with paths in file manager
>> problems with paths in file manager
greets svobi
----------------------------------------
http://www.swisswebgroup.com/
http://www.serverspace.ch/
----------------------------------------
----------------------------------------
http://www.swisswebgroup.com/
http://www.serverspace.ch/
----------------------------------------
- Oliver Georgi
- Site Admin
- Posts: 9907
- Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
- Contact:
Hm,
why do you not link the http://www.domain.com also to "/home/domain/public". I have never seen such configuration. Normally http://www.domain.com and domain.com links to the same space.
But if you can not change this why do you not link the http://www.domain.com to domain.com. Install phpwcms in domain.com.
Oliver
why do you not link the http://www.domain.com also to "/home/domain/public". I have never seen such configuration. Normally http://www.domain.com and domain.com links to the same space.
But if you can not change this why do you not link the http://www.domain.com to domain.com. Install phpwcms in domain.com.
Oliver
such an apache configuration ist often used for dynamic subdomains. this means you can simply add a new directory under public folder and surf on directoryname.example.com . i use such a configuration tooo and i am experiencing the same troubles , once if i have some minutes i will look up how to make it independent where the wcms is located.
greetings marc
- Oliver Georgi
- Site Admin
- Posts: 9907
- Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
- Contact:
would it not be better to change the
$_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"]
in general to
dirname($_SERVER['SCRIPT_FILENAME'])
?
the whole phpwcms runs either via index.php or phpwcms.php, so the users would have one $var less to configure.
greets & thanks for your tip, will going to try this.
(update)
it works so far i can see.
i changed it to
dirname($_SERVER['SCRIPT_FILENAME'])
$_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"]
in general to
dirname($_SERVER['SCRIPT_FILENAME'])
?
the whole phpwcms runs either via index.php or phpwcms.php, so the users would have one $var less to configure.
greets & thanks for your tip, will going to try this.
(update)
it works so far i can see.
i changed it to
dirname($_SERVER['SCRIPT_FILENAME'])
greets svobi
----------------------------------------
http://www.swisswebgroup.com/
http://www.serverspace.ch/
----------------------------------------
----------------------------------------
http://www.swisswebgroup.com/
http://www.serverspace.ch/
----------------------------------------
- Oliver Georgi
- Site Admin
- Posts: 9907
- Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
- Contact:
hmmm, are the act_scripts called separately ? or via includes in index.php or phpwcms.php ?
when all scripts are called with includes in one of the 2 main-files,
dirname($_SERVER['SCRIPT_FILENAME'])
would always report the dir, where this main-files are stored.
or not ?
when all scripts are called with includes in one of the 2 main-files,
dirname($_SERVER['SCRIPT_FILENAME'])
would always report the dir, where this main-files are stored.
or not ?
greets svobi
----------------------------------------
http://www.swisswebgroup.com/
http://www.serverspace.ch/
----------------------------------------
----------------------------------------
http://www.swisswebgroup.com/
http://www.serverspace.ch/
----------------------------------------
- Oliver Georgi
- Site Admin
- Posts: 9907
- Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
- Contact: