Page 4 of 6

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Posted: Wed 23. Jan 2008, 15:01
by update
flip-flop wrote:
claus wrote:You go to your articles in backend (or to the site structure in admin), do a hover over the little icon beneath langusge1 and then you should get a little text field displaying something like "ID: 11" or so. That's all I hope... ;)
Image

Knut
Perfect! :)

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Posted: Thu 24. Jan 2008, 13:37
by birdboot
flip-flop wrote:
I just wish I could get the rows of text closer, with less vertical space between them.
:shock:
Mhh, have you tested this workaround?
And please have a closer look into css syntax. If you made a page you cant live without css knowledge.

Knut :D
I agree that the best thing would be if I could suddenly know everything about CSS. Unfortunately I don't, so I try to learn a little at a time by reading whatever I have time for and hanging out with the experts (like here). I appreciate all your help.

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Posted: Thu 24. Jan 2008, 18:07
by flip-flop
Why you don´t do it like this? I have tested it on your site in FF and it works.

Code: Select all

    #pmenu a, #pmenu a:visited, #pmenu_home a, #pmenu_home a:visited  {
       ..........
       height: auto;      /* ORG 25px */     
       line-height: 1em;  /* ORG 24px (one less than height)*/
       text-decoration: none;
       /*text-indent: 5px;*/
       padding: 5px 0 4px 5px;
       .........}
Knut

Re: NAV_LIST_UL >= V1.30

Posted: Wed 12. Mar 2008, 19:59
by dinnocon
Once again you have delivered. Thanks. Just one issue. I have pasted the following into my template <div id="menu_container">{NAV_HORIZ_DD:0}</div> I have placed the php and css filesinto the correct directories as instructed. The problem is the menu that appears is vertical as per the image below. Am I guilty of newbie stupidity or have I missed something?
Image

Re: NAV_LIST_UL >= V1.30

Posted: Wed 12. Mar 2008, 20:14
by flip-flop
Have you bind the css file to your Template?

Re: NAV_LIST_UL >= V1.30

Posted: Wed 12. Mar 2008, 20:56
by dinnocon
As I suspected, newbie stupidity. Thank you. Now I have the menu in a large gap has appeared below it (see image) I have checked the css but can't see how to get rid of it, plus is there a way to text wrap the menu items? Sorry for all the questions. Hopefully I can pass the knowedge on as you do.

Image

Re: NAV_LIST_UL >= V1.30

Posted: Wed 12. Mar 2008, 20:59
by flip-flop
#menu_container {
margin: 0 0 100px 0;
position: relative;
width: 735px;
height: 21px; /* ORG 20px */
z-index: 1000;
} :D

100px are only for testing. :wink:

Re: NAV_LIST_UL >= V1.30

Posted: Wed 12. Mar 2008, 21:16
by dinnocon
You truly are a phpwcms blackbelt :D Many thanks. Any words of wisdom around the text wrap?

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Posted: Wed 12. Mar 2008, 22:20
by flip-flop
#pmenu a, #pmenu a:visited {
display: block;
width: 120px;
font-size: 11px;
color: #fff;
height: 21px; /* ORG 25px */
line-height: 20px; /* ORG 24px */

Please disable this line and play around a little bit.

Re: NAV_LIST_UL >= V1.30

Posted: Wed 12. Mar 2008, 23:46
by update
I did it like this and it was working (too):

Code: Select all

#pmenu li ul li a, #pmenu li ul li a:visited {
	border: solid #222222;
	border-width: 0px 1px 1px 1px;
	width: 14em;
	color: #111111;
	text-indent: 0em;
	padding-left:0.5em;
	height:auto;
}

Re: NAV_LIST_UL >= V1.30

Posted: Wed 12. Mar 2008, 23:57
by dinnocon
Thank you claus

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Posted: Thu 13. Mar 2008, 08:48
by flip-flop
That is the better solution.

Knut

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Posted: Thu 13. Mar 2008, 10:58
by dinnocon
Works great thanks! Finally, is there any way I can specify the positioning of the text in the menu. It is currently justified left and I would like the top level to be center aligned. Is it possible to do this independently of the lower levels?

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Posted: Thu 13. Mar 2008, 17:04
by dinnocon
Carrying on the subject of text wrapping on the menu, where the text goes onto another line it isn't indented as much as the line above (see http://www.themarstanpress.co.uk). Is this something that can be set in the css?

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Posted: Thu 13. Mar 2008, 17:34
by flip-flop

Code: Select all

#pmenu li ul li a, #pmenu li ul li a:visited {
   border-width: 0px 1px 1px 1px;
   text-indent: 0em;
   padding-left:0.5em;
   height:auto;
}
Please use this hint. It is the better solution.
And please have a look into css rules. I know that isn´t easy stuff but very helpfull. You are making a company website. .......

Knut