{NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID,Level depth} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down)

Post custom hacks and enhancements for phpwcms here only. Maybe some of these things will be included in official release later.
birdboot
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun 30. Dec 2007, 08:09

Re:

Post by birdboot »

flip-flop wrote:Why you don´t redirect to a second "home" like this:

+ root
++ Home
...
Is this the only solution here? Has anyone come up with a better one? I think it would be best to just have your real 'home' appear in the nav, as the first item on the left hand end of the bar.
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by flip-flop »

Hi,

at this moment it isn´t possible to have a parent output with the {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID}.
I will have a closer look next days to solve this problem.

A quick solution without active state for an output of the real HOME.
Template:

Code: Select all

<div id="menu_container"><ul id="pmenu_home"><li><a href="index.php">Home</a></li></ul>
{NAV_HORIZ_DD:0}</div>
CSS:

Code: Select all

#pmenu, #pmenu ul, 
#pmenu_home, #pmenu_home ul  { ....

#pmenu a, #pmenu a:visited, 
#pmenu_home a, #pmenu_home a:visited { ....

#pmenu li, 
#pmenu_home li { ....

#pmenu li:hover,
#pmenu_home li:hover { ....

#pmenu li:hover > a,
#pmenu_home li:hover > a { ....

* html #pmenu li a:hover, 
* html #pmenu_home li a:hover { ....

#pmenu li a:active, #pmenu li a:focus,
#pmenu_home li a:active, #pmenu_home li a:focus { ....
Knut
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
birdboot
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun 30. Dec 2007, 08:09

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by birdboot »

Knut, you're a legend. That's great. Thanks!!. :D
birdboot
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun 30. Dec 2007, 08:09

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by birdboot »

Another question here. How do I get long text strings in the submenu items to wrap elegantly? At the moment they wrap but the new line seems to be a new paragraph. It aligns all the way to the left of the box (ignoring the text-indent: 5px), and is too far below the first line - like a <p> instead of a </br> . See what I mean at http://woodpile.freehostia.com/index.php. I want it to look more like the text in the menus at http://www.cssplay.co.uk/menus/final_drop.html. I'm sure there's a simple CSS fix for this. Anyone know?
daniel.grant
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu 2. Nov 2006, 15:42
Location: London

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by daniel.grant »

Birdboot,
Text indent is used to indent only the first line of a paragraph - like you would in a written letter. Try using padding.

Dan
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by flip-flop »

e.g. like this:

Code: Select all

    #pmenu a, #pmenu a:visited, #pmenu_home a, #pmenu_home a:visited  {
       ..........
       height: auto;      /* ORG 25px */      
       line-height: 1em;  /* ORG 24px (one less than height)*/
       text-decoration: none;
       /*text-indent: 5px;*/
       padding: 5px 0 4px 5px;
       .........}
Have not tested in IE!!

Knut
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
birdboot
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun 30. Dec 2007, 08:09

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by birdboot »

@daniel and flip-flop
Thanks, this fixes things well enough for now. I just wish I could get the rows of text closer, with less vertical space between them.
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by flip-flop »

I just wish I could get the rows of text closer, with less vertical space between them.
:shock:
Mhh, have you tested this workaround?
And please have a closer look into css syntax. If you made a page you cant live without css knowledge.

Knut :D
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
User avatar
baklavoni
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon 23. Oct 2006, 00:48
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by baklavoni »

hmmm, I have one question (maybe silly one)...

I had made structure like this:
home
+page1
++page1.1
+page2
++page2.1
++page2.2
+page3
++etc
+page4
++etc
+page5

With this structure {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} menu are working great.

Problem comes when I insert completely new language, like this:

Home

+language1
++page1
+++page1.1
++page2
+++page2.1
+++page2.2
++page3
+++etc
++page4
+++etc
++page5

+language2
++page1
+++page1.1
++page2
+++page2.1
+++page2.2
++page3
+++etc
++page4
+++etc
++page5

Now I got only this: |language1|language2|. It is ok on home page (index.php), but at lower levels it is not ok.
What I need is that {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} show me just the current language structure (for example {NAV_HORIZ_DD:1} instead of {NAV_HORIZ_DD:0}).
I have put {NAV_HORIZ_DD:1} in my template, but it is not working.
Tried also to put category alias, but not working also...
I'm desperate :(

What to do?

Thanks
There is no page like home page...
User avatar
update
Moderator
Posts: 6455
Joined: Mon 10. Jan 2005, 17:29
Location: germany / outdoor

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by update »

You wrote it yourself already, I think:
{NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} where ID = id of lang1 or lang2. Give it a try (first check ids ;) )
It's mostly all about maintaining two or three customer's sites Still supporter for the band Mykket Morton. Visit Mykket Morton on FB. Listen Mykket Morton and live videos on youtube.
Now building a venue for young artists to get wet on stage, rehearsal rooms, a studio, a guitar shop - yes I'm going to build some guitars.
User avatar
baklavoni
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon 23. Oct 2006, 00:48
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by baklavoni »

claus wrote:You wrote it yourself already, I think:
{NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} where ID = id of lang1 or lang2. Give it a try (first check ids ;) )
:) A I said before, this is maybe silly question... ;)
Well I thought it can be answer like that, and tried to find ID number of my Language1 and Language2, but without success.
Can you give me guidlines where to search.... ;)

Thanks
There is no page like home page...
User avatar
update
Moderator
Posts: 6455
Joined: Mon 10. Jan 2005, 17:29
Location: germany / outdoor

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by update »

You go to your articles in backend (or to the site structure in admin), do a hover over the little icon beneath langusge1 and then you should get a little text field displaying something like "ID: 11" or so. That's all I hope... ;)
It's mostly all about maintaining two or three customer's sites Still supporter for the band Mykket Morton. Visit Mykket Morton on FB. Listen Mykket Morton and live videos on youtube.
Now building a venue for young artists to get wet on stage, rehearsal rooms, a studio, a guitar shop - yes I'm going to build some guitars.
User avatar
baklavoni
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon 23. Oct 2006, 00:48
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by baklavoni »

claus wrote:You go to your articles in backend (or to the site structure in admin), do a hover over the little icon beneath langusge1 and then you should get a little text field displaying something like "ID: 11" or so. That's all I hope... ;)
Hey, THAT IS IT! :)

Many thanks! You're great!
There is no page like home page...
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by flip-flop »

claus wrote:You go to your articles in backend (or to the site structure in admin), do a hover over the little icon beneath langusge1 and then you should get a little text field displaying something like "ID: 11" or so. That's all I hope... ;)
Image

Knut
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
User avatar
baklavoni
Posts: 170
Joined: Mon 23. Oct 2006, 00:48
Location: Bosnia and Herzegovina

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by baklavoni »

flip-flop wrote:
claus wrote:You go to your articles in backend (or to the site structure in admin), do a hover over the little icon beneath langusge1 and then you should get a little text field displaying something like "ID: 11" or so. That's all I hope... ;)
Image

Knut
I found it!
Many thanks!
There is no page like home page...
Post Reply