{NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID,Level depth} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down)

Post custom hacks and enhancements for phpwcms here only. Maybe some of these things will be included in official release later.
User avatar
update
Moderator
Posts: 6455
Joined: Mon 10. Jan 2005, 17:29
Location: germany / outdoor

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by update »

flip-flop wrote:
claus wrote:You go to your articles in backend (or to the site structure in admin), do a hover over the little icon beneath langusge1 and then you should get a little text field displaying something like "ID: 11" or so. That's all I hope... ;)
Image

Knut
Perfect! :)
It's mostly all about maintaining two or three customer's sites Still supporter for the band Mykket Morton. Visit Mykket Morton on FB. Listen Mykket Morton and live videos on youtube.
Now building a venue for young artists to get wet on stage, rehearsal rooms, a studio, a guitar shop - yes I'm going to build some guitars.
birdboot
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun 30. Dec 2007, 08:09

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by birdboot »

flip-flop wrote:
I just wish I could get the rows of text closer, with less vertical space between them.
:shock:
Mhh, have you tested this workaround?
And please have a closer look into css syntax. If you made a page you cant live without css knowledge.

Knut :D
I agree that the best thing would be if I could suddenly know everything about CSS. Unfortunately I don't, so I try to learn a little at a time by reading whatever I have time for and hanging out with the experts (like here). I appreciate all your help.
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by flip-flop »

Why you don´t do it like this? I have tested it on your site in FF and it works.

Code: Select all

    #pmenu a, #pmenu a:visited, #pmenu_home a, #pmenu_home a:visited  {
       ..........
       height: auto;      /* ORG 25px */     
       line-height: 1em;  /* ORG 24px (one less than height)*/
       text-decoration: none;
       /*text-indent: 5px;*/
       padding: 5px 0 4px 5px;
       .........}
Knut
Last edited by flip-flop on Thu 13. Mar 2008, 17:18, edited 1 time in total.
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
dinnocon
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue 17. Jul 2007, 15:49
Location: UK, Kent

Re: NAV_LIST_UL >= V1.30

Post by dinnocon »

Once again you have delivered. Thanks. Just one issue. I have pasted the following into my template <div id="menu_container">{NAV_HORIZ_DD:0}</div> I have placed the php and css filesinto the correct directories as instructed. The problem is the menu that appears is vertical as per the image below. Am I guilty of newbie stupidity or have I missed something?
Image
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Re: NAV_LIST_UL >= V1.30

Post by flip-flop »

Have you bind the css file to your Template?
Last edited by flip-flop on Thu 13. Mar 2008, 17:18, edited 1 time in total.
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
dinnocon
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue 17. Jul 2007, 15:49
Location: UK, Kent

Re: NAV_LIST_UL >= V1.30

Post by dinnocon »

As I suspected, newbie stupidity. Thank you. Now I have the menu in a large gap has appeared below it (see image) I have checked the css but can't see how to get rid of it, plus is there a way to text wrap the menu items? Sorry for all the questions. Hopefully I can pass the knowedge on as you do.

Image
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Re: NAV_LIST_UL >= V1.30

Post by flip-flop »

#menu_container {
margin: 0 0 100px 0;
position: relative;
width: 735px;
height: 21px; /* ORG 20px */
z-index: 1000;
} :D

100px are only for testing. :wink:
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
dinnocon
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue 17. Jul 2007, 15:49
Location: UK, Kent

Re: NAV_LIST_UL >= V1.30

Post by dinnocon »

You truly are a phpwcms blackbelt :D Many thanks. Any words of wisdom around the text wrap?
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by flip-flop »

#pmenu a, #pmenu a:visited {
display: block;
width: 120px;
font-size: 11px;
color: #fff;
height: 21px; /* ORG 25px */
line-height: 20px; /* ORG 24px */

Please disable this line and play around a little bit.
Last edited by flip-flop on Thu 13. Mar 2008, 17:19, edited 2 times in total.
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
User avatar
update
Moderator
Posts: 6455
Joined: Mon 10. Jan 2005, 17:29
Location: germany / outdoor

Re: NAV_LIST_UL >= V1.30

Post by update »

I did it like this and it was working (too):

Code: Select all

#pmenu li ul li a, #pmenu li ul li a:visited {
	border: solid #222222;
	border-width: 0px 1px 1px 1px;
	width: 14em;
	color: #111111;
	text-indent: 0em;
	padding-left:0.5em;
	height:auto;
}
It's mostly all about maintaining two or three customer's sites Still supporter for the band Mykket Morton. Visit Mykket Morton on FB. Listen Mykket Morton and live videos on youtube.
Now building a venue for young artists to get wet on stage, rehearsal rooms, a studio, a guitar shop - yes I'm going to build some guitars.
dinnocon
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue 17. Jul 2007, 15:49
Location: UK, Kent

Re: NAV_LIST_UL >= V1.30

Post by dinnocon »

Thank you claus
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by flip-flop »

That is the better solution.

Knut
Last edited by flip-flop on Thu 13. Mar 2008, 17:19, edited 1 time in total.
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
dinnocon
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue 17. Jul 2007, 15:49
Location: UK, Kent

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by dinnocon »

Works great thanks! Finally, is there any way I can specify the positioning of the text in the menu. It is currently justified left and I would like the top level to be center aligned. Is it possible to do this independently of the lower levels?
dinnocon
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue 17. Jul 2007, 15:49
Location: UK, Kent

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by dinnocon »

Carrying on the subject of text wrapping on the menu, where the text goes onto another line it isn't indented as much as the line above (see http://www.themarstanpress.co.uk). Is this something that can be set in the css?
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID} (NAVi HORIZontal Drop Down:ID)

Post by flip-flop »

Code: Select all

#pmenu li ul li a, #pmenu li ul li a:visited {
   border-width: 0px 1px 1px 1px;
   text-indent: 0em;
   padding-left:0.5em;
   height:auto;
}
Please use this hint. It is the better solution.
And please have a look into css rules. I know that isn´t easy stuff but very helpfull. You are making a company website. .......

Knut
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
Post Reply