Menu problem in 1.2.8.PLEASE LOOK

Please post all install related problems here. Visit this forum first for troubleshooting.
Post Reply
PHPmaster
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun 19. Mar 2006, 15:39

Menu problem in 1.2.8.PLEASE LOOK

Post by PHPmaster »

Hi, I used the 1.2.6 version a lot. Now with the new version 1.2.8 my horizontal menu looks very different. I made a fresh install of the 1.2.8. version and copied an pasted my templates , css from my local 1.2.6 version and ajusted the layout. Instead of a nice horizontal menue I get a vertical menu with ugly dots before them. Can I say my design goodbye with the 128 version? Please advice somebody!

Thanx,
Jeroen[/img]
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Post by flip-flop »

Hi Jeroen,

what tag did you used?
Is yout DocType the same?

Please have a look into the generated source, I think you must rename the class for this menu in frontend.css.
O.G. has changed some classes.

Regards Knut
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
PHPmaster
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun 19. Mar 2006, 15:39

how do I proceed?

Post by PHPmaster »

Hi, Thanx for your reply! I can change the clas name but what reptag do I use then? This is what I use now:

For css: /* CSS for the top level list */
#list_top_ul

For reptag:{NAV_LIST_TOP}

Please help,
Jeroen
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Post by flip-flop »

Hi Jeroen,

quick answer:

- Eleminate the class ul.list_level at the frontend.css.
- Insert the class #list_top_ul from your old frontend.css
- And change the call in your template from {NAV_LIST_TOP} to

Code: Select all

<div id="list_top_ul">{NAV_LIST_TOP}</div>
That´s all. I hope it soles your problem.

Regards Knut
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
PHPmaster
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun 19. Mar 2006, 15:39

Post by PHPmaster »

That souns o.k but do I have to delete a file from 1.2.8. and replace it with a file from 1.2.6. ? were do I find that file?

Please advice, Jeroen

If you are talking about my frontend css it looks like this for the navigation:

/* CSS for the top level list */
#list_top_ul {
padding: 3px 7px 3px 4px; /*Padding around outside of whole menu list*/
margin: 0px 0px 0px 0px;
border-bottom: 1px solid #5E747F;
font-weight: bold;
font-size: 12px;
font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;
/*background-image: url(../../picture/nav.gif);*/ /*Background between items*/
background-repeat: repeat-x;
}
#list_top_ul li {
list-style: none;
margin-top: 0px;
display: inline;
}
#list_top_ul li a {
padding: 3px 0.5em;
margin-left: 0px;
border: 1px solid #778; /* Border for sides of menu */
border-bottom: none;
border-top: none;
background-image: url(../../picture/nav.gif); /* Background for inactive item */
background-repeat: repeat-x;
text-decoration: none;
}
#list_top_ul li a:link { color: #000000; }
#list_top_ul li a:visited { color: #000000; }
#list_top_ul li a:hover {
color: Black;
background: #FFFFFF;
border-color: #227;
}
#list_top_ul li a#list_top_active_link, #list_top li a#list_top_home_active_link {
background-image: url(../../picture/navact.gif); /* Background for active item */
background-repeat: repeat-x;
border-bottom: 1px solid #F1EDDD;
}
User avatar
DeXXus
Posts: 2168
Joined: Fri 28. Nov 2003, 06:20
Location: USA - Florida

Post by DeXXus »

Since those classes were changed (see below) between 1.2.6 and 1.2.8...
flip-flop's good recommendation was to change those back (to the old classnames) in your "frontend.css".
Your template probably still calls the old classname:

NEW ( 1.2.8 ):

Code: Select all

/* CSS for the top level list */
ul.list_top, ul.list_level {
	padding: 3px 0;
	margin-left: 0;
	border-bottom: 1px solid #5E747F;
	font: bold 12px Verdana, sans-serif;
}
ul.list_top li, ul.list_level li {
	list-style: none;
	margin: 0;
	display: inline;
	padding: 0;
}
ul.list_top li a, ul.list_level li a {
	padding: 3px 0.5em;
	margin: 0px;
	border: 1px solid #778;
	border-bottom: none;
	background: #D7DEE5;
	text-decoration: none;
}
ul.list_top li a:link, ul.list_level li a:link { color: #5E747F; }
ul.list_top li a:visited, ul.list_level li a:visited { color: #5E747F; }
ul.list_top li a:hover, ul.list_level li a:hover {
	color: Black;
	background: #92A1AF;;
	border-color: #227;
}
ul.list_top li.active a, ul.list_level li.active a {
	background: white;
	border-bottom: 1px solid white;
}
OLD ( 1.2.6 ):

Code: Select all

/* CSS for the top level list */
#list_top_ul {
	padding: 3px 0;
	margin-left: 0;
	border-bottom: 1px solid #5E747F;
	font: bold 12px Verdana, sans-serif;
}
#list_top_ul li {
	list-style: none;
	margin: 0;
	display: inline;
}
#list_top_ul li a {
	padding: 3px 0.5em;
	margin-left: 3px;
	border: 1px solid #778;
	border-bottom: none;
	background: #D7DEE5;
	text-decoration: none;
}
#list_top_ul li a:link { color: #5E747F; }
#list_top_ul li a:visited { color: #5E747F; }
#list_top_ul li a:hover {
	color: Black;
	background: #92A1AF;;
	border-color: #227;
}
#list_top_ul li a#list_top_active_link, #list_top li a#list_top_home_active_link {
	background: white;
	border-bottom: 1px solid white;
}
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Post by flip-flop »

And please use this call <div id="list_top_ul">{NAV_LIST_TOP}</div> instead of the old {NAV_LIST_TOP} one.
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
PHPmaster
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun 19. Mar 2006, 15:39

SUCCES!!!!!!!

Post by PHPmaster »

Thank you for the great help flip-flop, it works!

Greetings from Amsterdam,

Jeroen 8)
Post Reply