WYSIWYG.. What the...

Get help with installation and running phpwcms here. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.
Dan-G

WYSIWYG.. What the...

Post by Dan-G »

I have been using this CMS for over 4 years and am always impressed by the distinctives that make it stand out from the many other choices available. I am also very thankful for OG and his efforts that make this CMS a top choice for designers. One thing however, that I am never impressed with is the WYSIWYG editor and I need to ask 'what is going on?!'

- Every time I download phpwcms the editor works completely different. In fact, previously I had been using the SPAW editor (did TinyMCE come on the scene for a while?), now SPAW is discontinued and replaced with CKeditor which doesn't even have the ability to add images.

- Out of the box the controls are either too restrictive (no ability to change headings) or too many.

- The editor works so badly it is laughable. On my browsers it frequently won't even allow paste from the clipboard. What it does to the source code is horrible. I actually find it so difficult to use I always work in the source code. Even then it wants to change what I write.

- If I find it this unusable how can I expect my clients to have any hope of getting it to work. No wonder after a few months web sites look such a mess. The end user gets so frustrated that they figure out how to turn all the controls on and out comes red text, comic sans etc.