How to make an article selector from site structure

Get help with installation and running phpwcms here. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.
Post Reply
achilehero
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun 4. Jan 2009, 13:30

How to make an article selector from site structure

Post by achilehero »

Hi!

I need to create something similar to this product selector here:

http://www.hiab.com/Product-finder/

Can anyone, please, give me some hints in what should I use?
The basic idea is this: I have three columns. The first column displays level structure 1. When I select an item in the first column, the 2nd column should display the according 2nd level site structure and so on.

Any help is welcome.

Thanks in advance!
User avatar
juergen
Moderator
Posts: 4556
Joined: Mon 10. Jan 2005, 18:10
Location: Weinheim
Contact:

Re: How to make an article selector from site structure

Post by juergen »

Hi

best thing might be 4 Tables and do this inside a Module. For displaying in frontend only that will be not so much to do. The way you thought is a nice one as well but needs lots of JS
achilehero
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun 4. Jan 2009, 13:30

Re: How to make an article selector from site structure

Post by achilehero »

Hi! Yes, I need this just for the front end. But still, can you please be more specific in what you mean taht I should do?


Thanks!
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Re: How to make an article selector from site structure

Post by flip-flop »

I hope this will answer your question:

-> NAV_LIST_UL (Parameter)
-> New tag {LEVELX_ID} or alternatively Level-Lift

E.g. the version with level tags:

Code: Select all

<div class="navi-test">

Test: Level output: {LEVEL0_ID},{LEVEL1_ID},{LEVEL2_ID}

[PHP]

// ==== root level

  echo '<div class="submenu00">'.LF;
  echo '{NAV_LIST_UL:F,0,1,act_path,active,,,<span>|</span>}';
  echo '</div>';

// ==== first level
if ('{LEVEL1_ID}' != '0' ) {  
  echo '<div class="submenu01">'.LF;
  echo '{NAV_LIST_UL:F,{LEVEL1_ID},1,act_path,active,,,<span>|</span>}';
  echo '</div>';
}

// ==== second level
if ('{LEVEL2_ID}' != '0' ) {  
  echo '<div class="submenu02">'.LF;
  echo '{NAV_LIST_UL:F,{LEVEL2_ID},1,act_path,active,,,<span>|</span>}';
  echo '</div>';
}

[/PHP]
</div>
Knut
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
achilehero
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun 4. Jan 2009, 13:30

Re: How to make an article selector from site structure

Post by achilehero »

Thanks, Knut. I guess I could use your example, but still, ... I think I cannot avoid JS. In your example, when I click a link from the first level it redirects me to that category in the website. Instead, I need the click to display the second level of navigation. I will see if an onclick function to add to that will work. But I guess I cannot use NAV_LIST_UL in this case, right?
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Re: How to make an article selector from site structure

Post by flip-flop »

Mhh, I don´t understand your problem, for me there is no need to use JS, unless you want to harcode the navigation messages.

However, I don't know the structure of the page, or your technical approach.

Knut
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
achilehero
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun 4. Jan 2009, 13:30

Re: How to make an article selector from site structure

Post by achilehero »

I need something to work just like the example here: http://www.hiab.com/Product-finder/

As you can see, when I select a category in the first column, it displays the subcategories in the 2nd column. When I select something in column 2, it finds a product in column 3. And when I select the product in column 3, it takes me in the website to the corresponding page. Maybe I didn't understand very well your example, but from what I know, NAV_LIST_UL displays the navigation menu. So when I click a link in the first column it just takes me to that category in the website, instead of just opening the second level of navigation.

Do you understand what I tried to explain or should I be more specific?

Thanks!
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Re: How to make an article selector from site structure

Post by flip-flop »

In the example, the selection is done on a separate page, which should be no problem.

If the choice is to run on the master page, JS must be used.

From my point of view a Script must be written, which represents navigation in JS.

Knut
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
User avatar
marcus@localhorst
Posts: 815
Joined: Fri 28. May 2004, 11:31
Location: localhorst
Contact:

Re: How to make an article selector from site structure

Post by marcus@localhorst »

From my point of view you need to render the full menu (from your starting point described above) in a contentpart via VCSS, I suppose ( http://www.phpwcms-howto.de/wiki/doku.p ... parameters ).
@Knut can take VCSS param take the A parameter to display articles in the menu? I don't know right now)
Then you have to rewrite the CSS of the flyoutmenu to fit your needs (without the :hove action), disable the IE htc to mimic the :hover function and write your own script to behave as you want.
If you get the full nested list rendered, then take a look here to step further -> http://www.alistapart.com/articles/complexdynamiclists/
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Re: How to make an article selector from site structure

Post by flip-flop »

@Marcus: The article navigation does not run in VCSS mode..
In addition, that is not further tragic, VCSS can be replaced with the mode " no TAG" for receiving the whole Navi tree.

VCSS only produced a small CSS statement and accesses a particular CSS file.
If these CSS statements connected to the NAV_LIST_UL "without TAG" the result in the FE is identical.

Knut
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
Post Reply