{NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID,Level depth} Looking for compact top level

Get help with installation and running phpwcms here. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.
Post Reply
User avatar
StudioZ
Posts: 802
Joined: Fri 28. May 2004, 19:57
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

{NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID,Level depth} Looking for compact top level

Post by StudioZ »

With this great menu solution:
http://www.phpwcms-howto.de/wiki/doku.p ... v_horiz_dd
{NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID,Level depth}

I am looking for the tweak to make this great Dropdown/Flyout menu with no fixed width, thus, for a more compact top level menu.

Problem:
Check: http://www.iroutier.com/site/accueil.phtml
Not much space left in my case to add more than 1 or 2 other main categories

I'd wish there would be no fixed width, at least for the main menu level (before hovering).
For the hidden subcategories, then simply inheriting the largest value inherited by the titles of the current subcategories

Will be back in some hours... have to hit the road... :wink:
Will have plenty of time to think... :wink:

Cheers,

Yves
Image
PhpWCMS Evangelist, -- iRoutier.com Running phpWCMS 1.4.2, r354 -> Great Version!!!!
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID,Level depth} Looking for compact top level

Post by flip-flop »

Hi Yves,

fast solution:

First level width:

Code: Select all

    #pmenu a, #pmenu a:visited {
       display: block;
/*       width: 120px; */       /* -kh */
       padding: 0 10px 0 10px;  /* +kh padding only first level */
       float: left;             /* +kh */
Sublevel width:

Code: Select all

    #pmenu li ul li a, #pmenu li ul li a:visited {
       border-width: 0 1px 1px 1px;
       width: 152px;          /* +kh width for all sub level */
       padding: 0 5px 0 5px;  /* +kh padding for all sub level */
I hope it work correctly.

Knut
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
User avatar
StudioZ
Posts: 802
Joined: Fri 28. May 2004, 19:57
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID,Level depth} Looking for compact top level

Post by StudioZ »

Oh Knut :shock: :D :wink:
Thank you!!! Your tweak did the job perrrrfecccctly.
Now I have so plenty of room to expand the menu that it is now a little bit Zen :lol:
We are so lucky to have a Guru like you who can communicate with us in English.

:idea: You take care fmy Friend :!: :wink:

Yves
Image
PhpWCMS Evangelist, -- iRoutier.com Running phpWCMS 1.4.2, r354 -> Great Version!!!!
User avatar
update
Moderator
Posts: 6455
Joined: Mon 10. Jan 2005, 17:29
Location: germany / outdoor

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID,Level depth} Looking for compact top level

Post by update »

Or try
#pmenu a, #pmenu a:visited {
display: block;
width: auto;
....
}

Aaaah - I'm a little bit late... :lol:
It's mostly all about maintaining two or three customer's sites Still supporter for the band Mykket Morton. Visit Mykket Morton on FB. Listen Mykket Morton and live videos on youtube.
Now building a venue for young artists to get wet on stage, rehearsal rooms, a studio, a guitar shop - yes I'm going to build some guitars.
User avatar
StudioZ
Posts: 802
Joined: Fri 28. May 2004, 19:57
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: {NAV_HORIZ_DD:ID,Level depth} Looking for compact top level

Post by StudioZ »

Thank you Guru Claus for your input :D
Your suggestion: width: auto;
also works but bypasses the padding values
I guess it would also be an option but... with margin values
depending on the desired rendu :wink:
Do you guys take some sleep sometime? :lol: :wink:

Cheers,

Yves
Image
PhpWCMS Evangelist, -- iRoutier.com Running phpWCMS 1.4.2, r354 -> Great Version!!!!
Post Reply