{NAV_LIST_UL} *** ;-)

Get help with installation and running phpwcms here. Please do not post bug reports or feature requests here.
larmann
Posts: 311
Joined: Thu 23. Jun 2005, 10:51
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Post by larmann »

Hi there,

looks like the new menu is really usefull. But I still don't get the structure: My navigation has brackets on [each] item. Where is this defined? I used to find such things in config/phpwcms/conf.template_default.inc.php

Hope there will be soon a detailt "how to" on faq.phpwcms-docu or on peperkorn-online. That whould be great :-)

Have a nice day!
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9892
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

Should it get brackets or does it have?

There is an optional parameter where you can set wrapping content for an entry of the navigation. Here is a sample:

{NAV_LIST_UL:menu_type, start_id, max_level_depth, class_path, class_active, ul_id_name, wrap_ul_div(0 = off, 1 = <div>, 2 = <div id="">), wrap_link_text(<em>|</em>)}

Code: Select all

{NAV_LIST_UL:,,,,,,,[|]}
Oliver
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
larmann
Posts: 311
Joined: Thu 23. Jun 2005, 10:51
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Post by larmann »

Now I understand. Thank you!
cyrano
Posts: 1598
Joined: Sat 31. Jan 2004, 18:33
Location: Stuttgart
Contact:

Post by cyrano »

Oliver Georgi wrote:Should it get brackets or does it have?

There is an optional parameter where you can set wrapping content for an entry of the navigation. Here is a sample:

{NAV_LIST_UL:menu_type, start_id, max_level_depth, class_path, class_active, ul_id_name, wrap_ul_div(0 = off, 1 = <div>, 2 = <div id="">), wrap_link_text(<em>|</em>)}

Code: Select all

{NAV_LIST_UL:,,,,,,,[|]}
Oliver
Hi,

playing around with this feature.

I want to have just a " | " between the navigation items.

i tried this:
{NAV_LIST_UL:,,,,,,,[|]} - no success
{NAV_LIST_UL:,,,,,,,[||]}- no success

what i am doing wrong?

ADDED: i use know for the moment a border-right in hss_menu.

guess i need to set a img with lower height to get it running...
Gruß/ regards cyrano
--------------------------------------------------------
templates -> http://www.128.weitzelmedia.de
planepix -> http://www.planepix.de
XING -> https://www.xing.com/profile/Thomas_Weitzel3
cyrano
Posts: 1598
Joined: Sat 31. Jan 2004, 18:33
Location: Stuttgart
Contact:

Post by cyrano »

hi all,

sitting hours to dig it out how it works, seen flipflops examples, but didn't get the glue to get it running:

I use

Code: Select all

{NAV_LIST_UL:HCSS,,,,active,,,}
and changed the file "nav_list_ul_hcss.css to:

Code: Select all

/* 

	Sample CSS for use in combination with {NAV_LIST_UL:HCSS}
	
	CSS for show/hide flyout menu is rendered dynamically in the style section
	Basis of this CSS is taken from http://www.alistapart.com/articles/horizdropdowns/

*/

.hcss_menu {
	font: normal normal 11px Verdana, Geneva, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
	}

.hcss_menu em {
	font-style: normal;
	}
	
.hcss_menu ul {
	margin: 0;
	padding: 0;
	list-style: none;
/*	border-left: 1px solid #FFCC00;  /* 0  Oben */
}
	
.hcss_menu ul li {
	float: left;
	position: relative;
	width: 90px; /* Width of Menu Items */
	height: 23px;
	}
	
.hcss_menu li ul {
	position: absolute;
	left: 0; /* Set 1px less than menu width */
	top: 23px; /* 23 Abstand von erstem Submen? zur ersten Zeile */
	display: none;
/*	border-left: 1px solid #FFCC00; /* 0  Ausklapp */
	}
	
.hcss_menu li ul li ul {
	left: 90px;
	top: 0;
	}
	
/* Styles for Menu Items */

.hcss_menu ul li a, .hcss_menu ul li a:link, .hcss_menu ul li a:visited {
	display: block;
	text-decoration: none;
	color: #FFFFFF;
	background: #708090; /* IE6 Bug */
	padding: 5px;
	aborder: 1px solid #FFCC00; /* 0 */
/*	border-left: 0px; */
	text-align: center;
	}

.active { /* aktive class */
	display: block;
	text-decoration: none;
	color: #FF3300;
	background: #FFFFFF; /* IE6 Bug */
	padding: 5px;
	aborder: 1px solid #FFCC00; /* 0 */
/*	border-left: 0px; */
	text-align: center;
}
	
.hcss_menu ul li a:hover { /* Erste Zeile */
	background: #475661;
	color: Orange;
}

.hcss_menu ul li:hover a { /* Erste Zeile */
	background: #475661;
	color: Orange; 
}

.hcss_menu ul li ul li a {
	text-align: center;
	background: #FFFABF; /* #8B99A7; */
	padding-left: 7px;
}
.hcss_menu ul li ul li a:hover {
	background: #FFFABF; /* #708090; */
}
.hcss_menu ul li:hover ul li a:hover { /* Submenues  .hcss_menu ul li:hover ul li a */
	text-align: center;
/*	padding-left: 7px; /* neu */
	background: #8B99A7; 
	color: #FFFFFF;
	color: red;
}
	
/* Holly Hack. IE Requirement \*/
* html .hcss_menu ul li { float: left; height: 1%; }
* html .hcss_menu ul li a { height: 1%; }
/* End */
all i get is a jumping menu item and not the change of colors:
Image

any ideas to handle this?
Gruß/ regards cyrano
--------------------------------------------------------
templates -> http://www.128.weitzelmedia.de
planepix -> http://www.planepix.de
XING -> https://www.xing.com/profile/Thomas_Weitzel3
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9892
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

Please - don't post such code here - make a new thread for such stuff. And always send a link to a real site so we can use special tools and can see what's working and what's not.

If you have a look at the code rendered by phpwcms you will see an additional block of code fur ul/li. Here you can find what it is based on: http://www.cssplay.co.uk/.

Oliver
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
cyrano
Posts: 1598
Joined: Sat 31. Jan 2004, 18:33
Location: Stuttgart
Contact:

Post by cyrano »

Ok, will make new thread in future.

got it now solved ... works in FF, not IE
Gruß/ regards cyrano
--------------------------------------------------------
templates -> http://www.128.weitzelmedia.de
planepix -> http://www.planepix.de
XING -> https://www.xing.com/profile/Thomas_Weitzel3
larmann
Posts: 311
Joined: Thu 23. Jun 2005, 10:51
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Documentation requested

Post by larmann »

Hi there,

I still don't understand the NAV_LIST_UL navigation. There are several posts which discuss the navigation. Most of them require an understanding that a newbie like me doesn't have.

This looks like a powerful feature, but there is no explanation on:
- phpwcms-docu.de
- peperkorn-online.de
- faq.phpwcms-docu.de

Please, don't forget the people with medium-knowledge. Like me.

Thank you
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Post by flip-flop »

Hi,

have you seen this thread?: http://www.phpwcms.de/forum/viewtopic.php?p=71396#71396

Knut
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
larmann
Posts: 311
Joined: Thu 23. Jun 2005, 10:51
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Post by larmann »

Hi Knut,

I had to read your answer several times :-) for sure, I read that thread you are pointing to, because it is the thread I'm just answering to! Or isn't it? Your first post is the most detailled post anybody wrote on that navigation yet. But unfortunately, I don't understand how to handle the navigation. I need more examples and more than just one sentence to understand it. Sorry. What about the levels? What about the invisible navigation item? And so on ...

Would you mind editing your first post and give more explanations and examples?

Thank you for your support!
User avatar
Oliver Georgi
Site Admin
Posts: 9892
Joined: Fri 3. Oct 2003, 22:22
Contact:

Post by Oliver Georgi »

There is a very well sample included with mode HCSS and VCSS - so you have to try and understand CSS. This is nothing you can find here. We are not able to give support for such a complex and browser specific topic.

Oliver
Oliver Georgi | phpwcms Developer | GitHub | LinkedIn | Систрон
dinnocon
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue 17. Jul 2007, 15:49
Location: UK, Kent

Navigation

Post by dinnocon »

There is a very well sample included with mode HCSS and VCSS - so you have to try and understand CSS. This is nothing you can find here. We are not able to give support for such a complex and browser specific topic.

Oliver
Hi Oliver. Fantastic CMS by the way. I have only been using it for a week and am a complete novice but seem to be getting on ok with it. I do however have to agree with Larmann that for the less practised some of the support offered is still hard to understand, though it is all very much appreciated. I just need to know if there is a replacement tag that will create me a horizontal 2 level menu similar in functionality to {NAV_TABLE_COLUMN}.

Cheers
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Post by flip-flop »

Hi dinnocon,
I just need to know if there is a replacement tag that will create me a horizontal 2 level menu similar in functionality to {NAV_TABLE_COLUMN}.
I don´t understand you.
A horizontal menu similar to NAV_TABLE_COLUMN ????

Knut
>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
dinnocon
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue 17. Jul 2007, 15:49
Location: UK, Kent

Post by dinnocon »

Hi dinnocon,
Quote:
I just need to know if there is a replacement tag that will create me a horizontal 2 level menu similar in functionality to {NAV_TABLE_COLUMN}.
I don´t understand you.
A horizontal menu similar to NAV_TABLE_COLUMN ????

Knut
You seem to be the go to man for all navigation questions. What I meant was I like the way NAV_TABLE_COLUMN expands to show the second level. Now if I could only get that but horizontal in a replacement tag I would be very happy.

Cheers
User avatar
flip-flop
Moderator
Posts: 8178
Joined: Sat 21. May 2005, 21:25
Location: HAMM (Germany)
Contact:

Post by flip-flop »

>> HowTo | DOCU | FAQ | TEMPLATES/DOCS << ( SITE )
Post Reply